Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Chatwoot is open source, so the self-hosted version costs nothing beyond running your own server and keeps every conversation on infrastructure you control. Crisp is hosted only, but its paid plans charge per workspace rather than per person, so a team of five costs the same as a team of one. Chatwoot's hosted plans go the other way, billing per agent from $19 a month if paid annually, with monthly billing costing more. The real choice is not which is cheaper outright, it is whether you would rather run the software yourself or stop thinking about a per-seat bill.
Open-source inbox for every channel at once
Shared inbox priced per workspace, not per seat
Chatwoot | Crisp | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $19 | From $45 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Not stated | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | 14 days |
| API | Yes |
Open-source inbox for every channel at once
Chatwoot collects website chat, email, Instagram, WhatsApp and the rest into one queue, and it is open source, so the version you self-host costs nothing and keeps the conversation data on your own server. That is the reason most people arrive. The hosted plans are priced per agent for anybody who would rather not run it. Setting up the self-hosted route is a real infrastructure job and the docs do not pretend otherwise.
Our note
Be honest about whether you have somebody who will keep a self-hosted deployment patched, because the free version is only free if that person already exists. If not, the hosted tier at $19 an agent is competitive on its own terms and the open source part is a nice fallback rather than the plan.
Only on this side
Shared inbox priced per workspace, not per seat
Crisp puts live chat, email, and the social inboxes into one thread per customer, and charges for the workspace rather than for each person in it. For a small team that pricing is the reason to look: adding a second and third person changes nothing on the bill. The free tier is a real chat widget rather than a countdown, which makes it a fair place to start.
Choose Chatwoot if you have someone who can keep a self-hosted deployment patched, because that route is free and unlimited and keeps conversation data on your own server. If not, its hosted plan is still reasonable at $19 a person a month billed annually, and it is the only one of this pair built to run entirely on infrastructure you own.
Choose Crisp if you want a small team answering messages without watching a per-seat bill grow. Its paid plans, starting at $45 a month per workspace, include unlimited agents, so a third and fourth person joining the inbox costs nothing extra. The free plan works too, with a real chat widget rather than a countdown, though extra agents on that tier are $10 a month each rather than included.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Everything, in an open format | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web | Web, macOS, Windows, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | DM & Comment Automation, Community Platforms | DM & Comment Automation, Social Media Management |
|---|
| Works with | Instagram, Facebook, WhatsApp | Instagram, Facebook, WhatsApp |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | 1 | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Per-workspace pricing is the whole argument, and it gets stronger with every person you add. At one seat it is unremarkable; at five it is a fraction of what the per-seat inboxes charge for the same job.
Only on this side