Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Flodesk prices by list size and sends unlimited email on every paid plan, from Lite at $25 a month, or $19 billed annually, at a thousand subscribers, built around templates that look designed rather than assembled. Kit prices the same way but is built around automation: visual sequences, tagging and a Creator Network that brings in signups, free up to 10,000 subscribers with one basic automation before its paid tiers start near $29. The choice is design versus branching logic.
Flodesk | Kit | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $25 | From $29 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | 14 days |
| API | Not stated |
Email that looks designed without a designer
Flodesk is built around templates that come out looking considered rather than like a form, which is why it keeps turning up in the hands of people selling something visual. Every paid plan sends unlimited email regardless of how often. Pricing moves with the size of the list instead, starting from a thousand subscribers. A free plan exists for building a list before there is anything to send to it, and anybody wanting deep automation branching will find this deliberately simpler than its competitors.
Our note
Move the subscriber slider to where you expect to be in a year rather than reading the starting price, because the starting figure is for a thousand subscribers and the curve above that is the real cost. Against the older platforms this wins on how the email looks and loses on what the automation can do, and only you know which of those you are buying.
Only on this side
Email marketing built around automation
Pick Flodesk if the email itself is part of the product and you are selling something visual to a steadily growing list. Lite is $25 a month, or $19 annually, at a thousand subscribers, but skip it if the plan requires branching automations or deep segmentation, which the listing says this deliberately does not do.
Choose Kit when sequences, tags and conditional content matter more than the newsletter's looks. The free Newsletter plan runs to 10,000 subscribers with one basic automation, enough to judge whether the automation is worth paying for, and selling through the list costs 3.5 percent plus 30 cents on top of whatever plan you land on.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | 3.5% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Email Marketing & Automation, Newsletter & Email | Newsletter & Email, Affiliate & Referral |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Kit is the one to pick when the sequences matter more than the newsletter. Visual automations, tagging and conditional content are genuinely good, and the creator network sends real signups. The editor is plainer than its competitors.
Our note
Kit against beehiiv is the real decision here, and it turns on which half of the job matters more. Kit is better at what happens after somebody subscribes, beehiiv at getting them to subscribe at all.
Only on this side