Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
SimplyBook.me meters by bookings a month: free covers 50 for one provider, and Basic at $11.90 a month billed annually raises that to 100 bookings and five providers, with deposits and payments sold as one of several optional feature modules. Square Appointments has no stated booking cap on its free plan, unlimited staff calendars included, and earns instead through card processing, 2.6 percent plus 15 cents in person, dropping to 2.5 percent on the $49 Plus plan. SimplyBook.me charges by volume. Square charges by what moves through the card reader.
Booking for a business with staff
Booking and payments in one account
SimplyBook.me | Square Appointments | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $11.90 | From $49 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial (they differ) | 14 days | 30 days |
Booking for a business with staff
SimplyBook.me is built for the appointment business rather than the meeting: several providers, a service list, deposits taken at the point of booking, and an app for the client. Its plans are counted in bookings a month instead of seats. That is the right unit for a studio with four staff and the wrong one for a consultant taking four calls a week.
Our note
This is the answer when a business has staff and takes deposits. For a personal booking link it is more machinery than the job needs, and Cal.com or TidyCal will be set up in ten minutes.
Only on this side
Booking and payments in one account
Square Appointments runs a booking site, staff calendars and reminders, and takes the payment through Square rather than through a separate processor. The free plan covers one location with no monthly fee at all, and the processing rate is where Square earns instead. Paying lowers that rate and adds the scheduling controls a team needs. Anybody who only wants a calendar link and never takes a payment is paying attention to the wrong half of this product.
Choose SimplyBook.me if the business has several providers, rooms or equipment and deposits are just one of several modules needed, alongside a branded client app or HIPAA coverage: Basic is $11.90 a month billed annually for 100 bookings and five providers. Watch the custom feature count on whichever plan is picked, since the wrong four modules on a cheap plan is the wrong plan entirely.
Choose Square Appointments if payment collection is the actual center of the business and a booking cap is unwelcome: the free plan has no stated limit on bookings, only a card processing rate that starts at 2.6 percent plus 15 cents and falls on the $49 Plus plan. Do the arithmetic on the processing gap rather than the features, since Plus pays for itself only around $12,000 a month in online bookings.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| API |
|---|
| Not stated |
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Scheduling & Booking | Scheduling & Booking, Monetization & Payments |
|---|
| Works with | Instagram, Facebook | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | 1 |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Do the arithmetic on the processing gap rather than on the features, because the $49 plan pays for itself somewhere around $12,000 a month in online bookings and is a straight loss below that. The free tier is not a stripped one: it is the same booking product at a higher card rate.
Only on this side