Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
SignWell gives away three documents a month for free, then Light is $10 a month for one sender with unlimited documents, and each extra sender costs $10 more. Xodo Sign has no free tier at all, charging $10 a seat a month billed yearly from the start, but folds in three templates and unlimited documents per seat immediately. Both land near $10 per sender once senders multiply. SignWell is the one with a real free plan; Xodo Sign is the one with PDF editing on its dearer tier.
E-signatures with three free documents a month
Unlimited signatures on the cheapest plan
SignWell | Xodo Sign | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $10 | From $10 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free plan, paid tiers | Paid subscription |
| Free tier (they differ) | Yes | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Not stated |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
E-signatures with three free documents a month
SignWell does the one job an independent business needs from an e-signature tool: send a contract, get it signed, keep an audit trail that stands up. Templates and reminders cut the chasing. The free plan allows three documents a month from one sender, which covers an occasional client contract and nothing busier.
Our note
Against Dropbox Sign and Docusign this is the cheaper answer to the same question, and the free tier is the differentiator. Three documents a month covers a freelancer who signs a contract per client rather than per project.
Unlimited signatures on the cheapest plan
Xodo Sign, which was eversign until the rename, sends documents for signature with no monthly cap on how many, which is unusual at ten dollars a seat. Templates are limited to three on the entry plan and unlimited above it. The dearer tier folds in PDF editing, redaction and an AI summary of a contract. Anybody who needs an API or bulk sending is quoted rather than priced.
Our note
Choose SignWell if occasional, low-volume sending should cost nothing: three documents a month is free, with an audit trail included even at $0. Light is $10 a month for unlimited documents from one sender, and Business at $30 covers three senders with custom branding and bulk send, both cheaper than Xodo Sign's per-seat rate at that headcount once billed the same way.
Choose Xodo Sign if in-document editing matters as much as sending: Professional at $16 a seat a month billed yearly adds PDF editing, redaction and an AI contract summariser, none of which SignWell offers at any tier. Basic starts at $10 a seat with unlimited documents and three templates, but there is no free plan, so budget for at least one paid seat from day one.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Legal & Contracts | Legal & Contracts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Choose on templates rather than on the PDF editing, because three is enough for one contract type and immediately not enough for a business with several. The rename from eversign is only a name: the domain, the plans and the account are unchanged, which is worth knowing if you signed up years ago.