Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Riverside records every guest locally in up to 4K video, built specifically for a show you intend to publish, free for two hours with a watermark then $29 a month for Pro. Zoom is the call almost anyone can already join without installing anything, also recording each participant locally so the file survives a bad connection, free up to 40 minutes for a group then $20 a month per user, or $14.16 billed annually. Riverside is built around the finished, publishable recording. Zoom is built around the call happening at all, with a usable recording as a side effect.
Riverside | Zoom | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $29 | From $20 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | 14 days | Not stated |
| API | Not stated |
Remote recording captured locally in full quality
Riverside records every participant on their own machine, so a bad connection during the call does not ruin the file. Up to 4K video and separate audio tracks. Guests need a reasonably modern browser and some patience with the upload.
Our note
The one to buy if the video matters as much as the audio. If you only ever publish audio, the local-recording safety net is still the reason to be here, but a cheaper recorder plus good habits gets close.
Only on this side
The call everyone can already join
Zoom is the video call most guests will not have to install anything to attend, which is the whole argument for using it over something better. For a creator it is the interview, the client call and the coaching session, and the local recording it writes for each participant is what makes it usable as a source for an edit. The free plan caps a group meeting at forty minutes. Paid plans are per host, and the add-ons for large webinars and cloud storage are priced separately from the seat.
Choose Riverside if the recording is the product: up to 4K video, separate tracks per guest, and a transcript and short vertical clips out of the same session, so a second tool is not needed for the promo. The free plan gives two hours at 720p with a watermark, enough to judge it, and Pro is $29 a month, more than Zoom's equivalent seat. API access is Business-tier only, so an automated pipeline needs to check that tier's price first.
Choose Zoom if the other person has to join without any friction and the recording is useful source material rather than the whole point: two-person calls run long on the free plan, and group meetings cap at 40 minutes until Pro, $20 a month per user or $14.16 billed annually, cheaper than Riverside's Pro. Local recording per participant is included, which is what makes a call usable as an edit source, but there is no 4K claim, no built-in clip generation and no transcript-driven promo cutting the way Riverside describes.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web, macOS, Windows, iOS, Android, Linux |
|---|
| Covers | Audio & Podcasting, Video Editing | Project Management, Live Streaming |
|---|
| Works with | YouTube, Instagram, Podcast, Twitch, LinkedIn | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Only on this side