Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Picsart bundles a phone-first editor with current generation models, MCP and CLI access, and 100GB of storage, Pro at $15 a month, or $10.50 billed yearly. Pixlr is a browser-based layered editor that opens Photoshop files and handles crop, retouch and composite work for a fraction of the price, Plus at $2.49 a month or Premium at $9.99 with AI generation included. Picsart leans into mobile-first editing plus heavier generation; Pixlr leans into being the cheap, general-purpose Photoshop replacement. The gap in price is large: Pixlr's entry tier costs a sixth of Picsart's.
Photo editing and AI generation in one app
Browser photo editing for a couple of dollars
Picsart | Pixlr | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $15 | From $2.49 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
Photo editing and AI generation in one app
Picsart grew up as a phone editor and kept that, which means the whole thing works with a thumb on a train rather than needing a desk. Background removal, retouching and the current generation models all sit in the same subscription. Everything is metered in credits, and the heavier image models empty a month's allowance faster than you would expect.
Browser photo editing for a couple of dollars
Pixlr is the cheapest way to stop paying Adobe for work that is mostly cropping, retouching and a background swap. It opens in a tab, handles layers, and the entry plan costs less than a coffee a month. AI generation is included but rationed, and the free tier carries ads.
Our note
If you are paying Adobe for Photoshop and using perhaps a tenth of it, this is the honest downgrade. Photoroom is better at product shots specifically and Pixlr is better at everything else at this price.
Pick Picsart if editing and AI generation both need to live in one app you can drive with a thumb, with real storage and even code-level access through MCP and CLI. Pro is $15 a month, or $10.50 billed yearly, though the premium generation models spend a month's credits fast.
Pick Pixlr if the work is mostly cropping, retouching and composites and you resent paying for a full Adobe subscription to do it. Plus is $2.49 a month, an order of magnitude under most alternatives, and it opens PSD files a collaborator sent without needing Photoshop at all.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export |
|---|
| Not stated |
| Not stated |
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Web, iOS, Android | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Photo Editing, AI Image Generation | Photo Editing, AI Image Generation |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.