Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Kit's free plan runs to 10,000 subscribers with one basic automation. Mailchimp's free plan is for a small list, with Mailchimp's own branding on the footer, and its paid Standard plan starts at $20 a month for just 500 contacts. Mailchimp's own listing settles the comparison plainly: pick Mailchimp when integrations with a shop, a booking tool or a CRM decide it, and for a newsletter as the main product, Kit costs less and was built for the job.
Email marketing built around automation
Email marketing with the longest integration list
Kit | Mailchimp | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $29 | From $20 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | 14 days | 14 days |
| API |
Email marketing built around automation
Kit is the one to pick when the sequences matter more than the newsletter. Visual automations, tagging and conditional content are genuinely good, and the creator network sends real signups. The editor is plainer than its competitors.
Our note
Kit against beehiiv is the real decision here, and it turns on which half of the job matters more. Kit is better at what happens after somebody subscribes, beehiiv at getting them to subscribe at all.
Only on this side
Email marketing with the longest integration list
Mailchimp is the default nobody gets fired for picking, and the reason is that whatever else you run already connects to it. The editor and the reporting are fine rather than good. Its pricing counts contacts rather than sends, so a large list you mail once a month costs the same as one you mail daily, which is the wrong shape for most creators.
Choose Kit if the sequences matter more than the newsletter itself: a welcome path that branches, tags that decide who gets what, a product sold to one slice of the list. The free plan's 10,000-subscriber ceiling is generous enough to prove the automation works before paying, and selling through Kit costs 3.5 percent plus 30 cents on top of the plan.
Choose Mailchimp only when integrations decide it, connecting to a shop, a booking tool and a CRM chosen before the newsletter existed. Its pricing counts contacts rather than sends, so a large list mailed rarely costs the same as one mailed daily, which is the wrong shape for a writer sending one letter a week.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | 3.5% of what you earn | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Newsletter & Email, Affiliate & Referral | Email Marketing & Automation, Newsletter & Email |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Pick Mailchimp when integrations decide it, and only then. For a newsletter as the main product, beehiiv and Kit both cost less and were designed for the job rather than adapted to it.
Only on this side