Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Gumroad charges nothing monthly and takes a flat 10 percent of every sale. SendOwl charges the opposite way: no cut of sales at all, from $32.50 a month billed annually for 5,000 orders and $10,000 of yearly sales, with every feature on every plan. Pick Gumroad when sales are occasional. Pick SendOwl once monthly sales pass a few hundred dollars, where a flat fee starts beating a 10 percent cut.
Sell digital products with almost no setup
Digital delivery billed flat, with no cut of sales
Gumroad | SendOwl | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | From $32.50 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free | Free trial, then paid |
| Free tier (they differ) | Yes | No |
| Billing (they differ) | Usage-based | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Yes |
Sell digital products with almost no setup
Gumroad is the fastest way to put a file behind a payment link. No store to build, no plan to choose, and a flat 10 percent on every sale. That rate is high once you are doing real volume, which is when people usually leave.
Our note
Start here, and do the arithmetic every quarter. The moment 10 percent is more than a competitor's monthly fee plus a lower rate, move. Until then nothing is simpler.
Only on this side
Digital delivery billed flat, with no cut of sales
SendOwl delivers digital files after payment and prices that on volume rather than on a share of the sale, which is the difference that matters to anybody selling a high-priced product. Every feature is on every plan, so the tier only decides how many orders, how much revenue and how much bandwidth are covered. Products and storage are uncapped at all levels. The flat fee is worse than a percentage for somebody selling very little, and better for everybody above that crossover.
Pick Gumroad for a first product or income that arrives unevenly, where paying nothing until something sells matters more than the rate. The fee is a flat 10 percent, covering payment processing, and a quiet month costs nothing.
Pick SendOwl once monthly sales pass roughly $325, the point where its $32.50-a-month Launch plan undercuts Gumroad's 10 percent cut, or once a single high-priced product makes a percentage cut expensive. Launch covers 5,000 orders and $10,000 of sales a year with unlimited products and storage, and every plan carries the same features, so moving up only raises the ceiling. Watch the revenue cap rather than the order count: a dear product hits it first.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut (they differ) | 10% of what you earn | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Digital Products & Storefronts, Monetization & Payments | Digital Products & Storefronts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Work out where the flat fee beats a percentage on your own numbers, because the crossover against a platform charging 5 to 10 percent arrives at a few hundred dollars of monthly sales. Watch the revenue ceiling rather than the order count, since a dear product hits the sales cap long before the order cap.