Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Gumroad charges nothing monthly and takes a flat 10 percent of every sale, processing included, so a quiet month costs nothing at all. SamCart charges $79 a month regardless of sales, with cart abandonment recovery and upsells built to raise how much each buyer spends, and payment processing is billed separately from that fee. The crossover is arithmetic: once monthly sales pass roughly $790, Gumroad's 10 percent cut costs more than SamCart's flat fee, so volume decides this rather than either platform being cheaper in the abstract.
Gumroad | SamCart | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | From $79 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free | Paid subscription |
| Free tier (they differ) | Yes | No |
| Billing (they differ) | Usage-based | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
Sell digital products with almost no setup
Gumroad is the fastest way to put a file behind a payment link. No store to build, no plan to choose, and a flat 10 percent on every sale. That rate is high once you are doing real volume, which is when people usually leave.
Our note
Start here, and do the arithmetic every quarter. The moment 10 percent is more than a competitor's monthly fee plus a lower rate, move. Until then nothing is simpler.
Checkout pages built for testing offers
SamCart is a checkout designed to be tested: one-page carts, order bumps, upsells taken after the card has cleared, and recovery mail for the ones who left. It sits beside whatever hosts your product rather than replacing it, which is why people run it alongside a course platform. Courses are on the entry plan now, and used to be an upgrade.
Our note
Buy this for the upsell flow rather than for the storefront, because that is where it earns the monthly fee back. If your products are cheap or few, Gumroad or Lemon Squeezy take a percentage and cost nothing while you are quiet.
Choose Gumroad for a first digital product, an occasional release, or any month where sales might be zero, since there is nothing to pay when nothing sells. The 10 percent rate does not fall with volume, so redo the math every quarter once sales become steady rather than occasional.
Choose SamCart once sales are steady enough that $79 a month beats 10 percent of revenue, roughly $790 or more in monthly sales, and you intend to actually run the order bumps and upsell tests it is built for. Payment processing is billed on top of that fee, so somebody selling a handful of items a month is paying a subscription for tools they are not using.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | 10% of what you earn | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Digital Products & Storefronts, Monetization & Payments | Monetization & Payments, Digital Products & Storefronts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.