Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Givebutter charges a 0 percent platform fee whenever donor tips are switched on, funded entirely by what donors optionally add at checkout, with Plus at $29 a month for marketing features most organisations never need. Kindest charges a mandatory 5 percent platform fee on its free plan, waived only on the first $50,000 raised in a first year, dropping to 3.75 percent on a $1,800-a-year paid plan. Givebutter's fee can genuinely reach zero. Kindest's fee is real and ongoing once the first-year waiver runs out, unless the annual plan is bought to lower it.
Fundraising that runs on optional tips
Donation pages that start without a subscription
Givebutter | Kindest | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $29 | Not listed |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Not stated |
| Free trial | 30 days | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
Fundraising that runs on optional tips
Givebutter charges nothing for donation pages, events and its fundraising CRM, and funds itself from a tip donors can choose to add at checkout. Turning tips off swaps them for a platform fee, which is the honest version of free. The paid tier is a marketing add-on rather than the fundraising itself, and most organisations never need it.
Our note
The 0 percent platform fee holds only while donor tips are switched on, and a fee applies if they are turned off. The cost moves from the organisation to the donor rather than disappearing, which is the trade to weigh against Donorbox.
Only on this side
Donation pages that start without a subscription
Kindest gives a nonprofit donation forms, recurring giving and donor records on a free plan that takes a percentage instead of a monthly fee, and waives even that on the first fifty thousand dollars of a first year. The paid tier lowers the percentage and adds text campaigns and scheduled time with a person. Forms default to asking the donor to cover fees. Everything here assumes a registered charity rather than an individual.
Pick Givebutter to keep the platform fee at zero for as long as donor tips stay switched on, which shifts the cost to donors who choose to cover it rather than off the top of every gift. The core product, donation pages, events and an unlimited-contact CRM, is free regardless. Plus at $29 a month is a marketing add-on, not the fundraising itself, and most organisations never need it.
Pick Kindest as a US nonprofit starting from nothing, where the free plan's 5 percent fee is waived entirely on the first $50,000 raised in a first year. Once that waiver runs out, the fee is real on every gift, and the $1,800-a-year paid plan only lowers it to 3.75 percent, which its own guidance says only pays for itself around $144,000 of annual donations. Below that, staying on the free plan is the right call even after the waiver ends.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut (they differ) | None | 5% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Tips & Donations, Crowdfunding | Tips & Donations, Crowdfunding |
|---|
| Works with | Twitch | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Work out where 1.25 percentage points saves more than $1,800 a year, which is around $144,000 of annual donations, and pick the plan on that rather than on the feature list. Below that number the free plan is the right answer even once the waiver runs out.