Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Genius Referrals meters new advocates each month, 250 included on Starter at $71 a month billed annually, and does not recount people who joined last year. GrowSurf meters total participants currently in the program, 2,500 included on Startup at $125 a month billed yearly, so the bill grows with the size of the program rather than with new activity. Genius Referrals suits a customer-referral scheme with uneven months; GrowSurf suits a product with a steady, ongoing stream of signups.
Referral programs priced per advocate
Referral programs priced by participant
Genius Referrals | GrowSurf | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $71 | From $125 |
| Pricing model | Free trial, then paid | Free trial, then paid |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Not stated |
| Free trial | 14 days | 14 days |
| API | Yes |
Referral programs priced per advocate
Genius Referrals runs customer referral schemes rather than affiliate marketing, which is a different job: the people doing the referring are buyers rather than publishers, and the rewards go both ways. Plans are metered on new advocates a month with a stated overage rather than a cliff, so a good month costs a known amount. Payout automation is an add-on rather than a tier. Existing advocates are not counted twice, which the page states, and that is what stops the meter running on people who joined last year.
Our note
The 20-cent overage is worth more than it looks, because it turns a good month into a known cost rather than an upgrade conversation. Check that your program really is customer-to-customer before buying here, since the pricing meter counts advocates and an affiliate program with ten hard-working publishers would waste the whole allowance.
Referral programs priced by participant
GrowSurf runs a refer-a-friend program for a product rather than a one-off giveaway: every participant gets a link, the rewards fire automatically, and the tax paperwork on the payouts is handled. It bills on how many people are in the program rather than on how many you refer, which is unusual and worth understanding before you launch.
Pick Genius Referrals if your referral volume varies month to month and you want a bill that reflects new activity rather than the program's whole history. Starter is $71 a month billed annually for 250 new advocates, and extra advocates cost 20 cents each rather than forcing a tier change, so a good month costs a known amount instead of triggering an upgrade conversation.
Pick GrowSurf if referrals are meant to be a permanent channel for a product with revenue already coming in, and you want rewards to fire automatically with the tax paperwork handled. Startup is $125 a month billed yearly for up to 2,500 participants, more than Genius Referrals' entry price, and that figure counts everyone ever in the program, referrers and referred alike, so the bill only grows from here.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Affiliate & Referral, Giveaways & Referrals | Giveaways & Referrals, Affiliate & Referral |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
The pricing model is the thing to think hardest about: paying per participant is generous if your referrals convert and punishing if they do not. Run the trial with real traffic before committing to a year.