Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Documenso gives away five documents a month for free, described as free forever, with open source code you can self-host. SignWell gives away three documents a month from one sender, then $10 a month for Light, which removes the cap entirely and adds five templates per sender. Documenso's free tier is bigger by two documents. SignWell's paid entry is cheaper and states SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA coverage on every plan, including the free one.
Open source signing you can host yourself
E-signatures with three free documents a month
Documenso | SignWell | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $25 | From $10 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Not stated | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Open source signing you can host yourself
Documenso is an electronic signature service whose code is public, so a business that cannot send contracts to somebody else's server can run the whole thing on its own. The hosted version behaves like the incumbents: fields, signing order, audit trail and a completed PDF. Five documents a month cost nothing. Self-hosting means the signing infrastructure becomes yours to keep running, which is a real commitment and the reason most people take the hosted plan.
Our note
Take the hosted plan unless there is a specific reason the documents cannot leave your infrastructure, because self-hosting a signing service means you now own its uptime and its backups. Five documents a month is a real free tier for somebody sending the occasional contract.
E-signatures with three free documents a month
SignWell does the one job an independent business needs from an e-signature tool: send a contract, get it signed, keep an audit trail that stands up. Templates and reminders cut the chasing. The free plan allows three documents a month from one sender, which covers an occasional client contract and nothing busier.
Buy Documenso if the free volume matters most, or if self-hosting the open source code is a real option worth having even if you never use it. Five documents a month cost nothing, and Individual is $25 a month billed yearly for unlimited signing.
Buy SignWell if compliance coverage matters for client work and the paid tier needs to stay cheap once the free cap is outgrown. Light is $10 a month for unlimited documents, less than half of Documenso's Individual price, and SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA are stated even on the free plan. Documenso does not make an equivalent compliance claim.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web, Linux | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Legal & Contracts | Legal & Contracts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Against Dropbox Sign and Docusign this is the cheaper answer to the same question, and the free tier is the differentiator. Three documents a month covers a freelancer who signs a contract per client rather than per project.