Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
DocHub gives three free uses a month, then $8 for Basic, which removes the cap entirely. Xodo Sign has no free tier: Basic is $10 a seat a month billed yearly, but removes the monthly cap from the very first paid plan too, with no limit on how many documents you send, which is unusual at that price. DocHub is the one to try before paying anything. Xodo Sign is the one built around volume from day one, provided you are ready to commit to a seat.
DocHub | Xodo Sign | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $8 | From $10 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free plan, paid tiers | Paid subscription |
| Free tier (they differ) | Yes | No |
| Billing | Not stated | Not stated |
| Free trial | 30 days | Not stated |
| API |
Sign and edit PDFs with a free plan
DocHub edits and signs PDFs in the browser, which covers the everyday case of filling in a form somebody emailed you without buying a document suite for it. The free plan allows three uses a month of the core features, so an occasional contract costs nothing. Paid tiers add unlimited use, templates and the sending workflow where you chase a countersignature.
Our note
The three-a-month free allowance is the reason to start here rather than anywhere else, since most people genuinely sign less than that. Upgrade when you find yourself counting, not before.
Unlimited signatures on the cheapest plan
Xodo Sign, which was eversign until the rename, sends documents for signature with no monthly cap on how many, which is unusual at ten dollars a seat. Templates are limited to three on the entry plan and unlimited above it. The dearer tier folds in PDF editing, redaction and an AI summary of a contract. Anybody who needs an API or bulk sending is quoted rather than priced.
Our note
Buy DocHub if you want to use the tool for free before committing to anything, a few times a month, then pay $8 to remove the cap. There is a real trial period before any card is needed.
Buy Xodo Sign if you already know you are sending contracts regularly and want no monthly cap on documents from the first paid seat, at $10 a month billed yearly. There is no free plan to test it on first, so the decision has to be made before signing up rather than after trying it. Templates are limited to three on that entry plan; Professional at $16 makes them unlimited.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Web, iOS, Android | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Legal & Contracts | Legal & Contracts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Choose on templates rather than on the PDF editing, because three is enough for one contract type and immediately not enough for a business with several. The rename from eversign is only a name: the domain, the plans and the account are unchanged, which is worth knowing if you signed up years ago.