Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Disciple's $399 a month, billed yearly, includes a branded app in both stores and takes zero percent of member payments. Skool has no app store presence and two plans with identical features: Hobby at $9 a month takes 10 percent of what members pay, Pro at $99 takes 2.9 percent. By Skool's own math, Pro wins above roughly $1,300 a month in member payments and Hobby wins below it. Disciple's flat fee only makes sense once a community is collecting real money; Skool is the cheaper way to start regardless.
Your community as an app in the app stores
Community, courses and a calendar in one paid space
Disciple | Skool | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $399 | From $9 |
| Pricing model | Paid subscription | Paid subscription |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes | Not stated |
| Data export |
Your community as an app in the app stores
Disciple builds a branded community app and puts it in the Apple and Google stores under your name, rather than sending members to a website that happens to work on a phone. It takes nothing from what members pay, which matters at the price it charges. That price starts at several hundred a month, so it is a business decision rather than an experiment.
Our note
Zero transaction fees against a high fixed cost is the whole shape of this, and it favours communities already collecting real money. Below roughly $8,000 a month in member revenue, a platform taking a percentage costs less.
Community, courses and a calendar in one paid space
Skool puts a forum, a course player and events behind one membership. The interface is deliberately plain, which keeps people posting, and there is very little customization by design. Both plans take a percentage of what members pay, which is the part of the pricing that has changed most since Skool launched.
Our note
Buy Disciple if the branded app is the reason you are here and the community is already collecting enough revenue that a real percentage would cost more than a flat fee. It starts at $399 a month billed yearly with nothing taken from what members pay.
Buy Skool if you want to ship this week for $9 a month and worry about the percentage later. Hobby takes 10 percent of member payments; Pro at $99 takes 2.9 percent, and Skool's own numbers say Pro pays for itself above roughly $1,300 a month in member payments. There is no branded app and no real customization on either Skool plan, which is deliberate, not a missing feature.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Everything, in an open format |
| Not stated |
| Their cut (they differ) | None | 10% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Web, iOS, Android | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Community Platforms, Memberships & Subscriptions | Community Platforms, Courses & Coaching, Memberships & Subscriptions |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Skool was worth recommending when it was one flat fee, and the two-tier pricing has made it a calculation instead. Run the $1,300 sum against your own numbers before picking a plan, and look at Circle instead if the community needs to look like yours.
Only on this side