Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Disciple's $399 a month, billed yearly, includes a branded app in both stores and takes zero percent of what members pay. Mighty Networks starts far cheaper, at $79 a month for Launch, with courses and events built in, but takes a 2 percent transaction fee that falls to 1 percent on Scale at $179. A branded app is not part of either of those tiers: it lives on Mighty Pro, which is custom quoted rather than listed. Disciple is the one with a fixed app price from the first plan.
Your community as an app in the app stores
Community, courses and memberships
Disciple | Mighty Networks | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $399 | From $79 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Paid subscription | Free trial, then paid |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | 14 days |
| API | Yes |
Your community as an app in the app stores
Disciple builds a branded community app and puts it in the Apple and Google stores under your name, rather than sending members to a website that happens to work on a phone. It takes nothing from what members pay, which matters at the price it charges. That price starts at several hundred a month, so it is a business decision rather than an experiment.
Our note
Zero transaction fees against a high fixed cost is the whole shape of this, and it favours communities already collecting real money. Below roughly $8,000 a month in member revenue, a platform taking a percentage costs less.
Community, courses and memberships
Mighty Networks puts the community first and hangs courses, events and paid memberships off it, which is the opposite order from a course platform that added a forum later. Members get a branded app rather than another tab. The transaction fee on the entry plan is small but real, and it disappears as the plans get dearer.
Our note
Buy Disciple if a branded app under your own name has to be in the plan you can actually see the price of. It starts at $399 a month billed yearly, with zero percent taken from member payments, and the app is not an upsell.
Buy Mighty Networks if courses and events matter more than a native app right now, and a lower fixed cost with a small, falling transaction fee suits the stage the community is at. Launch is $79 a month at 2 percent, dropping to 1 percent on Scale at $179. A branded app is possible eventually through Mighty Pro, but that tier is custom quoted, so the price is not something to compare against Disciple's $399 today.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Everything, in an open format | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut (they differ) | None | 2% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Web, iOS, Android | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Community Platforms, Memberships & Subscriptions | Community Platforms, Courses & Coaching, Memberships & Subscriptions |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Against Circle and Skool this is the one that ships an app under your own name, and it is priced accordingly. If the app is not the point, the other two do the community half for less.
Only on this side