Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Disciple charges $399 a month billed yearly for a branded app in both stores and takes zero percent of what members pay. Heartbeat charges $49 a month and takes 5 percent of what members pay on its entry plan, falling to 2.5 percent on Grow at $149 and 1.25 percent on Scale at $849, with courses, events and a member directory built in. Disciple's fixed cost only wins for a community already collecting real revenue. Heartbeat's percentage model costs less below that line and adds courses Disciple does not have at all.
Your community as an app in the app stores
A community with courses and events built in
Disciple | Heartbeat | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $399 | From $49 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Paid subscription | Free trial, then paid |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | 14 days |
| API | Yes |
Your community as an app in the app stores
Disciple builds a branded community app and puts it in the Apple and Google stores under your name, rather than sending members to a website that happens to work on a phone. It takes nothing from what members pay, which matters at the price it charges. That price starts at several hundred a month, so it is a business decision rather than an experiment.
Our note
Zero transaction fees against a high fixed cost is the whole shape of this, and it favours communities already collecting real money. Below roughly $8,000 a month in member revenue, a platform taking a percentage costs less.
A community with courses and events built in
Heartbeat runs channels, threads, events, courses and a member directory in one place, which is the shape most creator communities end up wanting after outgrowing a Discord server. Payments run through it and it takes a cut that falls as the plan rises. There is no free plan, and a community that stops paying is deactivated rather than frozen.
Our note
Buy Disciple if your community already collects meaningful revenue and you want a branded app with no cut taken from members at all. It has no free tier, starts at $399 a month billed yearly, and its own numbers put the flat fee ahead of a percentage-based rival above roughly $8,000 a month in member revenue.
Buy Heartbeat if courses and live events need to live in the same place as the discussion, and the fixed cost needs to stay low while the community is smaller. Build is $49 a month plus 5 percent, dropping to 2.5 percent on Grow at $149. By Heartbeat's own math, Grow costs less in total than Build once a community collects around $5,000 a month, so run that number before picking a tier.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Everything, in an open format | Everything, in an open format |
|---|
| Their cut (they differ) | None | 5% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Web, iOS, Android | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Community Platforms, Memberships & Subscriptions | Community Platforms, Courses & Coaching, Memberships & Subscriptions |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Discord |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Work out the transaction fee at your own revenue before comparing headline prices: at $5,000 a month collected, Grow costs less in total than Build. Against Circle and Mighty Networks this is the one with courses and events genuinely built in rather than bolted on.
Only on this side