Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Circle and Disciple both run a branded community, but Disciple's whole pitch is trading a much higher fixed price for zero transaction fees. Circle starts at $89 a month and takes 2 percent of member revenue on that tier, falling to 0.5 percent on its custom plan. Disciple starts at $399 a month billed yearly and takes nothing at all, on every tier, plus ships a branded app in the Apple and Google stores rather than a website that happens to work on a phone. Disciple's own listing puts the crossover at roughly $8,000 a month in member revenue, below which Circle's percentage costs less.
Community software that looks like yours, not ours
Your community as an app in the app stores
Circle | Disciple | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $89 | From $399 |
| Pricing model | Paid subscription | Paid subscription |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | 14 days | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Community software that looks like yours, not ours
Circle gives you spaces, events, courses and live streams under your own branding and domain. It is the more configurable answer to Skool, and the price reflects that. Worth it once a community is paying for itself.
Our note
The right answer when the community has to look like it belongs to you, and an expensive one before that is true. Against Skool it is more money and more control, which is the entire difference between them.
Only on this side
Your community as an app in the app stores
Disciple builds a branded community app and puts it in the Apple and Google stores under your name, rather than sending members to a website that happens to work on a phone. It takes nothing from what members pay, which matters at the price it charges. That price starts at several hundred a month, so it is a business decision rather than an experiment.
Choose Circle while a community is still proving it can pay for itself. At $89 a month plus a 2 percent transaction fee, the fixed cost is a fraction of Disciple's, and the 14-day trial needs no card. It has no native branded app in the way Disciple ships one; members use a website with your domain on it instead.
Choose Disciple once member revenue is well past Circle's break-even, roughly $8,000 a month by Disciple's own accounting, and a branded app under your own name in both stores is worth the fixed cost. Every tier carries zero transaction fees, so a community doing real volume keeps all of it, and the cheapest plan is $399 a month billed yearly against $469 paid monthly.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export (they differ) | Some of it | Everything, in an open format |
|---|
| Their cut (they differ) | 2% of what you earn | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Community Platforms, Courses & Coaching | Community Platforms, Memberships & Subscriptions |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | 1 | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Zero transaction fees against a high fixed cost is the whole shape of this, and it favours communities already collecting real money. Below roughly $8,000 a month in member revenue, a platform taking a percentage costs less.
Only on this side