Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Canva turns a template into a finished thumbnail or post quickly, free for most of the editor with Pro at $14.99 a month adding the brand kit and background remover. Inkscape draws vector artwork and costs nothing at all: free and open source under the GPL, with no account, no seat count and full data export as plain SVG a browser or a build pipeline can read directly. Inkscape runs natively on Linux, where Canva has no desktop app at all. The trade is a template that looks finished in a minute against a file format that will still open correctly in ten years.
Thumbnails, covers and posts without a designer
Free vector drawing that writes plain SVG
Canva | Inkscape | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $14.99 | Free |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free plan, paid tiers | Free |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Not stated |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
| Data export |
Thumbnails, covers and posts without a designer
Canva covers thumbnails, channel art, carousels and short video with templates that look fine and are quick to change. Brand kits keep a team consistent. Anyone with real design skill will outgrow it, and that is fine.
Our note
Nearly everyone should be on the free plan until a brand kit is the thing they keep wanting. Pro earns its money for teams and for anybody publishing daily; for one person making a thumbnail a week it does not.
Only on this side
Free vector drawing that writes plain SVG
Inkscape draws vector artwork and saves it as ordinary SVG rather than a format only it can read, which is what makes a logo drawn here openable in a browser, a build pipeline or somebody else's editor years later. It covers illustration, clip art, typography and diagramming on Linux, Windows and macOS. There is no account, no seat count and no upload step. The interface has its own habits and will feel strange to anybody arriving from a commercial editor, which is the real cost of it being free.
Take Canva for speed and templates: a thumbnail or a post finished from a preset rather than drawn from nothing. The free plan covers most templates and the editor itself, and Pro at $14.99 a month adds the brand kit and background remover. It works in any browser, which covers Linux too, but there is no dedicated desktop application the way Inkscape has one.
Take Inkscape when the artwork is headed to a developer or a code repository, since it writes plain SVG rather than a format only it can read. It costs nothing: free and open source under the GPL, with no account and a full, unrestricted export. Expect the interface to fight a newcomer for a week, since that unfamiliarity is the real cost of a tool with no subscription behind it.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Everything, in an open format |
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | macOS, Windows, Linux |
|---|
| Covers | Design & Graphics, Short-Form & Clipping | Design & Graphics |
|---|
| Works with | YouTube, Instagram, TikTok, Pinterest | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Reach for this over a paid editor when the output is going into code, because it writes SVG a browser will render rather than SVG exported from a proprietary format. Buy Affinity Designer instead if you want the same freedom from subscriptions with an interface that will not cost you a week.