Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Bookafy's free plan syncs a calendar both ways from day one, so a double booking cannot happen. Setmore holds two-way sync back for its Pro tier, but gives away more elsewhere for free: unlimited appointments, a booking page, email reminders and API access, all at $0, against Bookafy's free plan of basic scheduling for one person. Paid, the two land close together: $7 a user a month for Bookafy, $5 for Setmore, both billed on an annual cycle.
Bookafy | Setmore | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $7 | From $5 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Not stated | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | 7 days | Not stated |
| API | Not stated |
Booking pages with a real free tier
Bookafy does the ordinary booking job well: a page people pick a slot on, calendar sync both ways, reminders, and a video call created for the appointment. The free plan is not a trial and covers a single person taking meetings. Paid tiers add routing across a team, custom fields and the compliance options a health or legal practice needs. Nothing here will surprise anybody who has used Calendly, which is rather the point.
Our note
Start on the free plan and only move when a specific feature blocks you, since for a single person taking calls it does the whole job. Check the monthly-billed rate before committing, because the published figures are annual and the difference is not stated anywhere on the page.
Free appointment booking for a small team
Setmore gives away more than most booking tools charge for: unlimited appointments, a booking page and reminders on a plan that costs nothing. Paying adds recurring bookings, two-way calendar sync and the integrations a busier calendar needs. Its own admin is plainer than the newer tools, which is either restful or dated.
Pick Bookafy if a double-booked calendar is the actual problem: two-way sync is free from day one, where Setmore charges $5 a user a month for it. The free plan suits one person, and the top Pro+ tier at $11 adds HIPAA compliance that Setmore's listing does not mention.
Pick Setmore if you want unlimited appointments and API access before paying anything: both sit on the free plan. Pro and Team cost $5 a user a month billed annually, cheaper than Bookafy's equivalent tier, and that is where two-way calendar sync, recurring appointments and the integrations arrive.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Scheduling & Booking | Scheduling & Booking |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | 1 | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Free covers unlimited appointments and a booking page, which is more than most free tiers in this category give. The $5 upgrade is mostly two-way calendar sync. The question is whether a double booking has cost you anything yet.