Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
TidyCal charges once, $29 for a lifetime licence, instead of billing monthly the way almost everything else in scheduling does. Acuity Scheduling has no free plan and no one-time option, just $16 a month and up for intake forms and payment collected at booking. TidyCal's free plan already includes paid bookings and unlimited booking types. The real question is whether Acuity's deeper paperwork tools are worth an ongoing bill TidyCal does not charge.
Acuity Scheduling | TidyCal | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $16 | From $29 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing (they differ) | Monthly or annual | One-time purchase |
| Free trial (they differ) | 7 days | None |
Booking pages with intake forms
Acuity handles the part of booking that Calendly leaves out: intake forms, packages, deposits and paid appointments, with the money taken before anybody shows up. Squarespace owns it now and the two share an account. There is no free plan, so it is bought by people whose calendar already earns.
Our note
No free plan at all is the clearest difference from everything else here. Setmore and Cal.com take bookings for nothing, so the $16 is worth paying only when the intake form and the payment at booking are the point.
Booking pages you pay for once
TidyCal does what Calendly does for a single payment instead of a subscription, which over two years is the difference between $29 and several hundred. Paid bookings, recurring meetings and a free plan with unlimited booking types are all in. Polish is thinner and the integrations list is shorter, which is what you are trading for the price.
Our note
TidyCal is the better buy for a creator selling consultations who does not want another monthly line item. The free plan alone covers unlimited bookings, unlimited booking types and paid bookings through Stripe or PayPal. The $29 Individual Lifetime licence adds meeting links, group bookings and ten calendar connections for one payment. After that, only a 1 percent platform fee applies to paid bookings, on top of Stripe's own cut.
Acuity Scheduling is worth the $16 a month once intake forms and packages matter, since TidyCal has no stated equivalent for selling blocks of sessions. There is no free plan on Acuity at all. Somebody just wanting to test whether people will book should start with TidyCal's free tier instead, which costs nothing to try.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| API | Yes | Not stated |
|---|
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Scheduling & Booking | Scheduling & Booking |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
For most creators this is the correct purchase and Calendly is the habit. Buy the $29 lifetime licence, spend twenty minutes moving your links, and never think about scheduling costs again.