Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Square Appointments costs nothing a month for one location and earns through the card processing rate instead, 2.6% plus 15 cents in person. Acuity Scheduling charges a flat $16 a month and up, with intake forms and deposits built into every tier. One is a subscription price. The other is a percentage of what you process, and that only matters once real money is moving through the booking.
Booking pages with intake forms
Booking and payments in one account
Acuity Scheduling | Square Appointments | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $16 | From $49 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial (they differ) | 7 days | 30 days |
Booking pages with intake forms
Acuity handles the part of booking that Calendly leaves out: intake forms, packages, deposits and paid appointments, with the money taken before anybody shows up. Squarespace owns it now and the two share an account. There is no free plan, so it is bought by people whose calendar already earns.
Our note
No free plan at all is the clearest difference from everything else here. Setmore and Cal.com take bookings for nothing, so the $16 is worth paying only when the intake form and the payment at booking are the point.
Booking and payments in one account
Square Appointments runs a booking site, staff calendars and reminders, and takes the payment through Square rather than through a separate processor. The free plan covers one location with no monthly fee at all, and the processing rate is where Square earns instead. Paying lowers that rate and adds the scheduling controls a team needs. Anybody who only wants a calendar link and never takes a payment is paying attention to the wrong half of this product.
Square Appointments is free for a solo operator at one location, and the free plan is not thin: booking site, reminders and unlimited staff calendars are all included at $0. The cost instead is the card rate, 2.6% plus 15 cents in person or 3.3% plus 30 cents online. Do the arithmetic on your own volume first. Plus at $49 a month lowers those rates and roughly breaks even around $12,000 a month in online bookings.
Acuity Scheduling is the better fit when payment processing is not the point, or when intake forms matter more than a lower card rate. At $16 a month it has no free tier, but the price is fixed. It never moves with how much money passes through it. Choose Acuity over Square once the paperwork before the appointment matters as much as taking the payment itself.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| API | Yes | Not stated |
|---|
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Scheduling & Booking | Scheduling & Booking, Monetization & Payments |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | 1 |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Do the arithmetic on the processing gap rather than on the features, because the $49 plan pays for itself somewhere around $12,000 a month in online bookings and is a straight loss below that. The free tier is not a stripped one: it is the same booking product at a higher card rate.
Only on this side