Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Tapfiliate charges a flat $89 a month, or $890 a year, regardless of how much the affiliate program pays out, with about thirty integrations covering most checkouts. Tolt starts cheaper at $69 a month, but only up to $10,000 a month paid to affiliates, moving to $99 for a $20,000 ceiling and $199 for $50,000, beyond which it quotes a percentage instead. Tolt is the cheaper start for a new program. Tapfiliate's flat fee becomes the better deal once affiliate payouts grow large, since it never charges more no matter how successful the program gets.
Affiliate tracking you run yourself
Affiliate programs for startups, priced by payout
Tapfiliate | Tolt | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $89 | From $69 |
| Pricing model | Free trial, then paid | Free trial, then paid |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Not stated |
| Free trial (they differ) | 7 days | 14 days |
| API | Yes |
Affiliate tracking you run yourself
Tapfiliate is the affiliate layer for a business that already has checkout somewhere else, with integrations for Shopify, Stripe and about thirty other places a sale can happen. Recurring commissions and coupon tracking are on the entry plan, which is where most creator programs live. Multi-level structures and automated payouts sit a tier up.
Only on this side
Affiliate programs for startups, priced by payout
Tolt runs an affiliate program for a subscription business: a branded portal for partners, tracking that survives a Stripe checkout, and payouts that go out automatically rather than as a monthly chore. Tiers are drawn around how much affiliates earn each month rather than how many of them there are, so recruiting widely costs nothing until the recruiting works. Affiliates and referrals are uncapped on every plan. Automatic payouts carry a processing fee on top of the subscription.
Our note
Work out which payout band you will land in before comparing this with a per-affiliate tool, because the tier boundary is the whole price and it moves with success rather than with effort. Pick Rewardful or FirstPromoter instead if you want Stripe-native tracking above all else; pick this if the branded partner portal is what you are buying.
Choose Tapfiliate if the checkout is not exclusively Stripe, or the program is already large enough that a flat fee beats a payout-based ceiling: $89 a month, or $890 a year, never changes regardless of how much affiliates earn, and about thirty integrations cover Shopify, BigCommerce and Stripe alike. A program with three affiliates and occasional sales is paying $89 a month for very little, so it only makes sense at real volume.
Choose Tolt if the business is a Stripe-billed subscription standing up its first affiliate program: Basic is $69 a month while affiliate payouts stay under $10,000, with unlimited affiliates and a branded partner portal included from the start. Recruiting widely costs nothing until it works, which suits a program that does not yet know whether the channel pays off, but model which payout tier the program will land in before assuming it stays cheap.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Affiliate & Referral, Monetization & Payments | Affiliate & Referral |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.