Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
signNow charges by the plan, not the seat, so Business at $8 a month billed annually, or $20 monthly, covers unlimited users with no per-collaborator charge. SignWell has no such unlimited-user structure: its free plan covers one sender and three documents a month, and Light at $10 a month adds unlimited documents but still charges $10 for each extra sender beyond the first. signNow is cheaper for a team. SignWell is cheaper, and genuinely free, for one person sending occasionally.
E-signatures with unlimited users on every plan
E-signatures with three free documents a month
signNow | SignWell | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $8 | From $10 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
E-signatures with unlimited users on every plan
signNow sends documents for signature and charges by the plan rather than by the seat, so adding a collaborator does not change the bill. That is the whole reason a small team picks it over the incumbent. Templates, bulk sending and an API that will fire signature requests from your own software are all there; the interface is plainer than the market leader's and costs a quarter as much.
Our note
Against Docusign this is a quarter of the price for the same job, and the unlimited-users line is what makes it cheaper again for a team. The reason to pay Docusign instead is that clients recognise the name on the email.
E-signatures with three free documents a month
SignWell does the one job an independent business needs from an e-signature tool: send a contract, get it signed, keep an audit trail that stands up. Templates and reminders cut the chasing. The free plan allows three documents a month from one sender, which covers an occasional client contract and nothing busier.
Our note
Choose signNow if more than one person needs to send or collaborate on contracts: unlimited users are stated on every plan, so a second or third signer adds nothing to the $8-a-month bill billed annually. It has no free tier at all, so anybody who signs only a couple of documents a year should look elsewhere first.
Choose SignWell if the volume is low and a genuine free plan matters: three documents a month costs nothing, covers an occasional client contract, and includes a tamper-proof audit trail even at $0. Light is $10 a month for unlimited documents from one sender, but a second sender adds $10 more, so a growing team should price that against signNow's unlimited-user plans before committing.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web, iOS, Android | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Legal & Contracts | Legal & Contracts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Against Dropbox Sign and Docusign this is the cheaper answer to the same question, and the free tier is the differentiator. Three documents a month covers a freelancer who signs a contract per client rather than per project.