Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
SamCart is a checkout layer built for testing offers, order bumps and post-purchase upsells, that sits beside whatever already hosts the product, for a flat $79 a month with no extra fee from SamPay on top of ordinary processing. Shopify is the storefront itself, catalog, inventory, multichannel selling, at $29 a month billed yearly plus a card rate starting at 2.9 percent that falls as the plan rises. SamCart earns its fee back through the upsell flow. Shopify earns its through volume, where the falling card rate outweighs the higher plan cost.
SamCart | Shopify | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $79 | From $29 |
| Pricing model | Paid subscription | Paid subscription |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Yes |
| Data export |
Checkout pages built for testing offers
SamCart is a checkout designed to be tested: one-page carts, order bumps, upsells taken after the card has cleared, and recovery mail for the ones who left. It sits beside whatever hosts your product rather than replacing it, which is why people run it alongside a course platform. Courses are on the entry plan now, and used to be an upgrade.
Our note
Buy this for the upsell flow rather than for the storefront, because that is where it earns the monthly fee back. If your products are cheap or few, Gumroad or Lemon Squeezy take a percentage and cost nothing while you are quiet.
A storefront whose card rate falls by plan
Shopify runs the shop itself, the checkout and the card processing, which is why its pricing has two numbers rather than one: a monthly plan and a card rate that drops as the plan rises. Selling on social, in person and through a site all report into the same catalogue and stock count. The plans are otherwise similar enough that most people choose on the card rate and the staff seats. Using a payment provider other than Shopify's own adds a transaction fee on top, so the cheap plan is not always the cheap option.
Choose SamCart if checkout conversion is where the revenue actually turns: $79 a month buys unlimited products and checkouts, cart abandonment recovery and post-purchase upsells taken after the card has already cleared, plus a courses app to host what was sold. It is a poor buy at that price for somebody selling a handful of items a month, who should start with a storefront charging a percentage instead.
Choose Shopify if the business needs an actual catalog across channels, in person, on a site, on social, with stock counts that stay in sync: Basic is $29 a month billed yearly, or $39 monthly, with card rates from 2.9 percent plus 30 cents, dropping to 2.25 percent on the highest plan. Work out the crossover on actual card volume before picking a tier, since a fraction of a percent on a busy month can cover the gap between two plans. A single digital download is better served by a storefront with no monthly fee at all, like Gumroad or Lemon Squeezy.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Not stated |
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Monetization & Payments, Digital Products & Storefronts | Monetization & Payments, Digital Products & Storefronts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Work out the crossover between plans on your own card volume before choosing, because 0.2 percent of a busy month covers the difference between two tiers and most people pick on features instead. If a third-party gateway is a requirement rather than a preference, price that transaction fee in first, since it can cost more than the plan itself.