Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Ruzuku's free plan costs nothing, needs no card and never expires, then Core is $99 a month with no transaction fee and unlimited courses and students. Teachable has no free plan at all anymore, and Starter at $39 a month plus 7.5 percent of every sale looks cheaper than it is: its own listing says selling past about $700 a month makes Builder, $89 flat with no fee, the actually cheaper plan. Ruzuku is the place to build and test for free. Teachable is the established platform, and Builder rather than Starter is where its real price lives.
Course hosting that takes nothing per sale
Host and sell courses, with payments included
Ruzuku | Teachable | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $99 | From $39 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free plan, paid tiers | Free trial, then paid |
| Free tier (they differ) | Yes | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial (they differ) | None | 7 days |
Course hosting that takes nothing per sale
Ruzuku sells course hosting with no transaction fee and a free plan that is not time limited, which between them make it a reasonable place to find out whether anybody wants the course before paying for the privilege. Lessons can be dripped, students can be graded and the whole thing runs on Ruzuku's own domain. It will not build you a funnel. Anybody who needs one is in the wrong category.
Our note
The step from free to $99 is steep with nothing between, so plan to launch on the free tier and move once a course is actually selling. Against Teachery at $49 this is twice the price for unlimited students and drip scheduling, which only matters once enrolment is real.
Only on this side
Host and sell courses, with payments included
Teachable handles hosting, checkout, drip content and student progress, and it has done so for long enough to be predictable. Coaching sessions and digital downloads sell from the same account. The cheapest plan charges a percentage of every sale on top of its monthly fee, which is the one number to check before committing.
Choose Ruzuku if you want to prove a course sells before paying anything: the free plan has no time limit and needs no card, and Core at $99 a month adds unlimited courses and students with no transaction fee at any tier, ever. It will not build a funnel and has no affiliate tooling, so this is a teaching tool and stops there. The jump from free to $99 has nothing in between, so plan to move only once enrolment is real.
Choose Teachable if the course is the whole business and you want a decade-old platform that works the same way it always has: coaching sessions and digital downloads sell from the same account as the course. Do not stay on Starter, $39 a month plus 7.5 percent of every sale, out of thrift; its own listing says that fee overtakes the price gap to Builder, $89 flat with no fee, past around $700 a month in sales. There is no free plan at all anymore, only a 7-day trial and a 30-day guarantee.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| API | Not stated | Yes |
|---|
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | 7.5% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Courses & Coaching, Memberships & Subscriptions | Courses & Coaching, Monetization & Payments |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Do not stay on Starter out of thrift. The 7.5 percent overtakes the price difference quickly, and Teachable is one of the few platforms where the second cheapest plan is genuinely the cheapest.
Only on this side