Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Riverside records every participant locally in up to 4K video, free for two hours with a watermark, then $29 a month for Pro. Zencastr records the same way, video included, free for a first show, then $24 a month or $288 billed yearly for the first paid tier, cheaper than Riverside's. Riverside is the closer comparison specifically when video quality is the deciding factor, by Zencastr's own admission. Zencastr is the cheaper entry if editing, transcription and distribution in one place matter more than 4K.
Remote recording captured locally in full quality
Remote recording with a local track each side
Riverside | Zencastr | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $29 | From $24 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Not stated |
| Free trial | 14 days | 14 days |
| API |
Remote recording captured locally in full quality
Riverside records every participant on their own machine, so a bad connection during the call does not ruin the file. Up to 4K video and separate audio tracks. Guests need a reasonably modern browser and some patience with the upload.
Our note
The one to buy if the video matters as much as the audio. If you only ever publish audio, the local-recording safety net is still the reason to be here, but a cheaper recorder plus good habits gets close.
Only on this side
Remote recording with a local track each side
Zencastr records each guest on their own machine and uploads the file afterwards, so a bad connection ruins the live monitor rather than the recording. That is the whole reason to use a tool like this instead of a call recorder. Video is recorded the same way. Editing, transcription and distribution sit on top, which means a short interview show can start and finish in one place rather than moving files between four tools.
Choose Riverside if the video has to be the best version of itself, up to 4K, since that is the specific edge its own listing leads with. The free plan gives two hours of multi-track recording at 720p with a watermark, enough to judge it, and Pro is $29 a month with yearly billing taking up to 20 percent off. API access is Business-tier only, so do not plan an automated pipeline around Pro or Grow.
Choose Zencastr if the show is recorded, edited, transcribed and distributed from one place and you want the cheaper entry point: the free tier covers a first show, and the first paid tier is $24 a month, or $288 billed yearly, below Riverside's $29. Its own listing recommends Riverside instead specifically when video quality is the deciding factor, a fair way to draw the line between them. Guests need no account on either, just a link.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Audio & Podcasting, Video Editing | Audio & Podcasting, Transcription & Show Notes |
|---|
| Works with | YouTube, Instagram, Podcast, Twitch, LinkedIn | Podcast |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Compare the hours each tier includes against how often you actually record before choosing, because that is what moves you up a band rather than audience size. Riverside is the closer comparison if video quality is the deciding factor.
Only on this side