Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
REAPER is a full multitrack recording, editing and mixing workstation bought once for $60 (or $225 above $20,000 in yearly business revenue) and kept, with a 60-day trial that holds nothing back. Riverside is narrower and rented: it records each remote guest locally so a dropped call does not ruin the file, from a free plan capped at two hours and 720p, then $29 a month for 4K and no watermark. REAPER is where audio and video get mixed. Riverside is how a remote interview survives a guest's bad connection.
A full audio workstation for sixty dollars
Remote recording captured locally in full quality
REAPER | Riverside | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $60 | From $29 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | One-time purchase | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing (they differ) | One-time purchase | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial (they differ) | 60 days | 14 days |
A full audio workstation for sixty dollars
REAPER is a professional digital audio workstation that costs less than two months of most subscriptions and never expires. It records, edits and mixes as many tracks as the machine can hold, runs the plugin formats everybody else runs, and the whole install is small enough to keep on a memory stick. The interface is famously plain and famously configurable, which means a first session is harder and the tenth is faster. The licence is priced by how you use it rather than by what you get.
Our note
The pricing here is the most honest in this category: two numbers, self-assessed, no upsell. If sixty dollars for a full workstation sounds like a catch, the catch is the first afternoon spent on the interface.
Remote recording captured locally in full quality
Riverside records every participant on their own machine, so a bad connection during the call does not ruin the file. Up to 4K video and separate audio tracks. Guests need a reasonably modern browser and some patience with the upload.
Our note
Choose REAPER to own the workstation outright and handle recording and mixing in person or solo. Sixty dollars buys a licence with free upgrades through version 8.99, no monthly bill afterward, and the 60-day evaluation is unrestricted, so there is time to actually learn the interface before paying.
Choose Riverside if the job is interviewing people who are not in the room and the video matters as much as the audio. Pro is $29 a month with a 14-day trial, so two months of it costs about what a REAPER licence costs once, but that money rents a safety net against bad connections rather than buying an editor outright. The free plan caps at two hours with a watermark, enough to judge whether the local-recording trick is worth paying for.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on | macOS, Windows, Linux | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Audio & Podcasting, Video Editing | Audio & Podcasting, Video Editing |
|---|
| Works with | Podcast | YouTube, Instagram, Podcast, Twitch, LinkedIn |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
The one to buy if the video matters as much as the audio. If you only ever publish audio, the local-recording safety net is still the reason to be here, but a cheaper recorder plus good habits gets close.
Only on this side