Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Podia charges 5 percent of sales on its cheapest plan, Mover at $42 a month billed yearly, though that fee disappears entirely at Shaker, $84 a month billed yearly. Ruzuku charges no transaction fee ever, at any tier, and its free plan costs nothing, needs no card and never expires, a real place to find out whether anybody wants the course first. Ruzuku is cheaper to start. Podia is cheaper once a fee-free plan is the goal, since Shaker at $84 undercuts Ruzuku's $99 Core plan.
Podia | Ruzuku | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $42 | From $99 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial (they differ) | 30 days | None |
Courses, downloads and email in one place
Podia sells courses, digital downloads, coaching and memberships from one storefront, with an email tool attached so the list and the products live together. Nothing in it is the best version of itself, and that is the trade being offered: one subscription instead of four. The entry plan charges 5 percent of sales, which the two plans above it drop.
Our note
The 5 percent on the entry plan is the number to run first. Past about $850 of monthly sales the fee costs more than the $42 jump to Shaker, and that jump also removes the email subscriber cap.
Only on this side
Course hosting that takes nothing per sale
Ruzuku sells course hosting with no transaction fee and a free plan that is not time limited, which between them make it a reasonable place to find out whether anybody wants the course before paying for the privilege. Lessons can be dripped, students can be graded and the whole thing runs on Ruzuku's own domain. It will not build you a funnel. Anybody who needs one is in the wrong category.
Choose Podia if courses are one product among several: downloads, coaching and memberships sell from the same storefront, with an email tool built in so the list and the products live together. Mover is $42 a month billed yearly with a 5 percent fee, and its own listing says that fee costs more than the jump to Shaker's $84 once monthly sales pass around $850. Nothing here is the best version of itself, the trade for one subscription instead of four.
Choose Ruzuku if the course is the whole business and you want to prove it works before paying anything: the free plan has no time limit and needs no card, and Core at $99 a month adds unlimited courses and students with no transaction fee at any tier, ever. It will not build a funnel, sell downloads or run email marketing, so anybody wanting Podia's broader storefront is buying a narrower teaching tool here. The jump from free to $99 has nothing in between, so plan to move only once a course is actually selling.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | 5% of what you earn | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Courses & Coaching, Digital Products & Storefronts | Courses & Coaching, Memberships & Subscriptions |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
The step from free to $99 is steep with nothing between, so plan to launch on the free tier and move once a course is actually selling. Against Teachery at $49 this is twice the price for unlimited students and drip scheduling, which only matters once enrolment is real.
Only on this side