Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Photoroom is built specifically around commerce imagery, cutting a product out and dropping it onto a better background, Pro at $12.99 a month, or $7.50 billed yearly. Pixlr is a general layered editor in a browser, opening PSD files and handling crop, retouching and composites for a fraction of the price, Plus at $2.49 a month or Premium at $9.99 with AI generation included. Pixlr's own listing draws the line directly: Photoroom is better at product shots specifically, and Pixlr is better at everything else at this price. The two are not really competing for the same job.
Product photos with the background removed
Browser photo editing for a couple of dollars
Photoroom | Pixlr | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $12.99 | From $2.49 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Product photos with the background removed
Photoroom cuts a subject out of a photo and drops it onto something better, which is most of what selling a physical product on Instagram or Etsy requires. Batch mode does a whole catalogue at once. It is built around commerce imagery rather than general editing, so a portrait retoucher will find it narrow.
Only on this side
Browser photo editing for a couple of dollars
Pixlr is the cheapest way to stop paying Adobe for work that is mostly cropping, retouching and a background swap. It opens in a tab, handles layers, and the entry plan costs less than a coffee a month. AI generation is included but rationed, and the free tier carries ads.
Our note
If you are paying Adobe for Photoshop and using perhaps a tenth of it, this is the honest downgrade. Photoroom is better at product shots specifically and Pixlr is better at everything else at this price.
Pick Photoroom specifically for product photography: batch mode treats a whole catalogue at once, and the background and shadow generation is built for making a phone photo pass as a studio shot. Pro is $12.99 a month, or $7.50 billed yearly.
Pick Pixlr for everything that is not product photography: cropping, retouching, composites and general layered editing, at $2.49 a month for Plus, an order of magnitude under most alternatives. It opens Photoshop documents without owning Photoshop, though credits expire monthly rather than rolling over, so an unused allowance is lost at the reset.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Web, iOS, Android | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Photo Editing, AI Image Generation, Thumbnails & Cover Art | Photo Editing, AI Image Generation |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.