Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Photoroom is built specifically around commerce imagery: cutting a product out and dropping it onto a better background, with batch mode for a whole catalogue, Pro at $12.99 a month or $7.50 billed yearly for 8,000 AI credits. Picsart is broader, a general phone-first editor with background removal, retouching and current generation models in the same subscription, Pro at $15 a month or $10.50 yearly, and it is the only consumer photo editor here with MCP and CLI access for driving it from Claude Code or a terminal. Photoroom is narrower and slightly cheaper for product photography specifically; Picsart does more but the premium image models can empty a month's credits in an afternoon.
Product photos with the background removed
Photo editing and AI generation in one app
Photoroom | Picsart | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $12.99 | From $15 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Product photos with the background removed
Photoroom cuts a subject out of a photo and drops it onto something better, which is most of what selling a physical product on Instagram or Etsy requires. Batch mode does a whole catalogue at once. It is built around commerce imagery rather than general editing, so a portrait retoucher will find it narrow.
Only on this side
Photo editing and AI generation in one app
Picsart grew up as a phone editor and kept that, which means the whole thing works with a thumb on a train rather than needing a desk. Background removal, retouching and the current generation models all sit in the same subscription. Everything is metered in credits, and the heavier image models empty a month's allowance faster than you would expect.
Pick Photoroom if the job is product photography for a shop or a listing, especially from a phone without a lightbox. Pro is $12.99 a month, or $7.50 billed yearly, and batch mode applies the same treatment to a whole catalogue at once rather than one file at a time.
Pick Picsart if editing and AI generation both need to happen in one app across a wider range of content, not just product shots. Pro is $15 a month, or $10.50 yearly, but read the per-model credit costs before assuming the allowance covers your volume, since the premium generation models spend it fast.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Web, iOS, Android | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Photo Editing, AI Image Generation, Thumbnails & Cover Art | Photo Editing, AI Image Generation |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.