Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
OpusClip picks moments from a long recording, reframes them vertically and captions them, free with a watermark and then $15 a month for Starter, metered in credits that a long weekly show burns through faster than the plan name suggests. Spikes Studio does the same job for close to the same price, $14.09 a month billed annually for the middle tier, but states its limit in a number you can actually plan against: 3,600 minutes of source video a year, about one hour a week. Both start free with a watermark at 720p as a demo rather than a workflow. Spikes Studio's stated minute allowance is the clearer number to hold against your own recording time.
One long video into captioned vertical clips
Clips cut from streams and long video
OpusClip | Spikes Studio | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $15 | From $14.09 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Not stated |
| Free trial | None | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
One long video into captioned vertical clips
OpusClip picks moments from a long recording, reframes them vertically and adds captions. The selections are decent rather than inspired, so treat the output as a first pass. It saves hours on a weekly show.
Our note
Worth it if you publish a long show weekly and nothing else. The selections are a decent first pass rather than good taste, so budget time to throw half of them away, and do not let it post straight to a channel unattended.
Only on this side
Clips cut from streams and long video
Spikes Studio finds the moments worth posting in a long recording and cuts them into vertical clips with captions burned on. Plans are metered in minutes of source video a year rather than in clips, so a weekly four-hour stream is the thing to measure before choosing a tier. Free output carries a watermark and stops at 720p, which makes the free plan a demo rather than a workflow.
Pick OpusClip if you would rather export into a real editor afterward: clips come out as MP4 or as a project for Premiere Pro or DaVinci Resolve, and Starter is $15 a month. The credit system is the thing to watch, since it is not stated as plainly in minutes as Spikes Studio's is.
Pick Spikes Studio if you want a concrete number to plan against: 3,600 minutes of source video a year on the $14.09-a-month middle tier, about an hour of recording a week, working out to roughly a cent and a half a minute by its own math. A show longer than an hour a week will outgrow that tier and needs the $56.34 plan's 14,400 minutes instead.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Short-Form & Clipping, AI Content Tools | Short-Form & Clipping, Captions & Subtitles |
|---|
| Works with | YouTube, Instagram, TikTok, Podcast, Twitch, Kick | YouTube, TikTok, Podcast, Twitch |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Measure your weekly recording hours against the annual minute allowance before picking a tier, because 3,600 minutes a year is only about an hour a week. The watermark makes the free plan a demonstration rather than something to publish from.
Only on this side