Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Ko-fi takes nothing from one-off tips but 5 percent from memberships, the shop and commissions, unless Gold at $12 a month removes that cut. Liberapay takes nothing at all, ever, on any income type, but has no tiers, no rewards and no shop, only plain recurring donations paid weekly. The axis is features against a true zero: Ko-fi's cut buys tiers, a shop and commissions Liberapay does not offer at any price.
Tips, memberships and a shop with no platform cut
Recurring donations with no platform cut
Ko-fi | Liberapay | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $12 | Free |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free plan, paid tiers | Free |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing (they differ) | Monthly or annual | Usage-based |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
Tips, memberships and a shop with no platform cut
Ko-fi takes nothing from tips on the free plan, which no other platform of its size does. Memberships, commissions and digital downloads all work from the same page. It is lighter than Patreon in every direction, which is often the point.
Our note
The best free option for somebody who mostly gets tipped, and worth weighing against Patreon the moment memberships become the larger half of the income. Do the Gold arithmetic yourself rather than taking the upgrade prompt's word for it.
Only on this side
Recurring donations with no platform cut
Liberapay is a non-profit that collects recurring donations and keeps none of them, funding itself from donations to its own page. Money moves weekly rather than monthly, and a donor pays several weeks ahead so the processing fee is charged once. There are no tiers, no rewards and no shop, which is the point for people who wanted a way to be paid rather than a platform to run.
Choose Ko-fi if tiers, a shop or commissions are part of the plan, since those are the things Liberapay does not build at all. The free plan takes nothing from tips, and Gold at $12 a month removes the 5 percent cut on everything else once that volume justifies it.
Choose Liberapay if a plain recurring donation with no platform cut is the whole want, and rewards, tiers or a shop are not part of it. The only cost is the payment processor's, averaging around 3 percent through Stripe, and the $100-a-week cap on any single patron is a deliberate choice to keep income from resting on one person.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Monetization & Payments, Memberships & Subscriptions, Tips & Donations | Tips & Donations, Monetization & Payments |
|---|
| Works with | YouTube, Twitch | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Nothing else in this catalog takes zero. The cost is everything a platform normally provides, discovery, tiers, a shop and a support team, so choose it because you agree with how it works rather than to save the ten percent.