Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Invoicely's free plan caps at 5 invoices a month for 3 clients, with Basic at $9.99 a month raising that to 100 invoices and 25 clients, and no bookkeeping ledger at any tier. Zoho Books gives away real accounting for one user for free: bank reconciliation, expense tracking and 1099 contractor tracking, with Standard at $20 a month, or $15 billed yearly, adding more users. Invoicely limits by invoice count; Zoho Books limits by user count and does considerably more within its free plan.
Invoicing with a free plan that stays free
Free accounting for a one person business
Invoicely | Zoho Books | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $9.99 | From $20 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Not stated | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | None |
| API | Not stated |
Invoicing with a free plan that stays free
Invoicely sends invoices, estimates and recurring statements, and tracks time, expenses and mileage against them. The free plan is capped at five invoices a month rather than at a trial period, so a freelancer billing one or two clients never has to pay. Billing in any currency is on every paid tier, which matters if your clients are not all in one country.
Our note
Worth choosing when invoicing is the only accounting job you have. The moment somebody says the word reconciliation, you have outgrown it, and paying $9.99 here plus a real ledger somewhere else costs more than starting on Wave.
Free accounting for a one person business
Zoho Books gives a solo business a genuinely free plan with invoices, expenses, bank reconciliation and 1099 tracking on it, which is more than most vendors put behind their cheapest paid tier. It is worth the trade if you already use anything else Zoho makes. On its own it is a heavier, more form-driven thing to learn than the tools built for freelancers first.
Pick Invoicely for straightforward invoicing without learning a heavier accounting product, especially if multi-currency billing matters, which sits on every paid tier from $9.99 a month.
Pick Zoho Books when the free plan needs to include bookkeeping, not just invoices, particularly if other Zoho products are already part of the stack. Standard is $20 a month, or $15 billed yearly, well above Invoicely's $9.99 Basic plan, but it is bank reconciliation and 1099 tracking on top, not the same invoicing feature at a higher price.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Accounting & Tax | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
This is the strongest free accounting product a solo creator can get, and the catch is not the features but the interface: it is built by a company that sells fifty products and it feels like it. If you already resent bookkeeping, Wave will annoy you less.
Only on this side