Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Invoicely sends invoices, tracks time and expenses, and stops there, free for 5 invoices a month or from $9.99 for 100. Xero is full accounting: bank reconciliation, contractor 1099 filing, cash flow forecasting and the reports an accountant asks for in January, with no free plan and Early at $25 a month capped at 20 invoices and 5 bills. Invoicely is cheaper and does one job; Xero costs more and replaces the spreadsheet and the accountant's spring scramble both.
Invoicing with a free plan that stays free
Accounting a freelancer can run without help
Invoicely | Xero | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $9.99 | From $25 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free plan, paid tiers | Paid subscription |
| Free tier (they differ) | Yes | No |
| Billing | Not stated | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated |
Invoicing with a free plan that stays free
Invoicely sends invoices, estimates and recurring statements, and tracks time, expenses and mileage against them. The free plan is capped at five invoices a month rather than at a trial period, so a freelancer billing one or two clients never has to pay. Billing in any currency is on every paid tier, which matters if your clients are not all in one country.
Our note
Worth choosing when invoicing is the only accounting job you have. The moment somebody says the word reconciliation, you have outgrown it, and paying $9.99 here plus a real ledger somewhere else costs more than starting on Wave.
Accounting a freelancer can run without help
Xero covers the parts of bookkeeping a creator actually meets: invoices, bank reconciliation, expenses and the reports an accountant asks for in January. Nothing in it assumes you have taken an accounting class. There is no free plan, and the cheapest tier stops at twenty invoices a month, which a busy freelancer clears by the third week.
Our note
Pick Invoicely when invoicing, and looking professional while doing it, is the entire job. The free plan covers 5 invoices a month for 3 clients, and Basic at $9.99 a month is still far below Xero's cheapest tier.
Pick Xero once there are contractors to pay and a real filing at the end of the year. Early is $25 a month, though a rolling promotion often cuts the first bill to a fraction of that before it returns to list price by the fourth month, so budget for $25 rather than the introductory rate. Count last year's invoices first: the 20-invoice cap on Early is what most solo creators hit and resent.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Accounting & Tax | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Pick Xero over Wave when you have contractors to pay and a real filing to make, and Wave over Xero when you mostly need invoices to look professional. The invoice cap on the entry plan is the thing people hit and get annoyed by, so count last year's invoices before choosing it.
Only on this side