Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Inkscape is a free, open source vector editor for illustration and general artwork, running on Linux, Windows and macOS with no account and no cost at all. Sketch is a Mac-only interface design tool, priced per editor from $12 a month billed yearly, or bought once for $120 a seat with a year of updates that keeps working after. Both let somebody avoid an ongoing subscription, but Inkscape does it by being free forever while Sketch does it by selling a licence outright.
Inkscape | Sketch | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | From $12 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free | Free trial, then paid |
| Free tier (they differ) | Yes | No |
| Billing | Not stated | Not stated |
| Free trial | Not stated | 30 days |
| API | Not stated |
Free vector drawing that writes plain SVG
Inkscape draws vector artwork and saves it as ordinary SVG rather than a format only it can read, which is what makes a logo drawn here openable in a browser, a build pipeline or somebody else's editor years later. It covers illustration, clip art, typography and diagramming on Linux, Windows and macOS. There is no account, no seat count and no upload step. The interface has its own habits and will feel strange to anybody arriving from a commercial editor, which is the real cost of it being free.
Our note
Reach for this over a paid editor when the output is going into code, because it writes SVG a browser will render rather than SVG exported from a proprietary format. Buy Affinity Designer instead if you want the same freedom from subscriptions with an interface that will not cost you a week.
Interface design with a one-time licence
Sketch draws interfaces in a Mac application and puts the reviewing half in a browser, so somebody signing off a screen needs no licence to open it. Editors are counted and viewers are not, which keeps a project's cost tied to the people actually moving pixels. Two ways to pay sit side by side: a subscription per editor, or a single payment that keeps working after the year of updates it includes runs out. Anybody designing on Windows is ruled out, because the editor itself is Mac only.
Pick Inkscape for illustration, logos and general artwork, especially on Linux or Windows, where Sketch does not run at all. It costs nothing under any circumstance, funded by donations rather than by anyone's plan.
Pick Sketch for interface and product design on a Mac, where its handoff tools and review-in-browser workflow are built for that specific job. The one-time licence at $120 a seat is the option worth knowing about: it costs more upfront than a month of the $12 subscription but keeps working after the included year of updates ends, unlike a subscription that stops the software the day it lapses.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Everything, in an open format | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | None | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | macOS, Windows, Linux | Web, macOS |
|---|
| Covers | Design & Graphics | Design & Graphics |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
The one-time licence is the reason to look here rather than at the browser-first tools, and it pays for itself against the subscription inside a year. Take the subscription instead only if you want the collaboration features to keep improving under you, because the licence freezes at whatever the app is when its update year ends.