Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Harvest tracks hours against a project and turns them into an invoice, free for one seat and two projects, then $9 a seat a month. Wave does not track time at all, but gives away real double-entry bookkeeping and unlimited invoices for free, earning instead on card processing at 2.9 percent plus 60 cents and on a $19-a-month Pro plan with automation. Pick Harvest if hourly time tracking is the core of the business. Pick Wave if the books need to be real accounting, not just invoices.
Harvest | Wave | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $9 | From $19 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial (they differ) | 30 days | None |
| API |
Time tracking that turns into an invoice
Harvest counts hours against a project and then bills them, which removes the worst half hour of any freelance month: reading a timesheet back and typing it into an invoice. Expenses and receipts attach to the same project. The free plan covers one person and two projects, and for a solo creator that is often where it stops.
Our note
Harvest is the pick when the hours are the invoice. If work is billed as a fixed project fee, Moxie or Bonsai cover more of the job for similar money and the time tracking is the smaller part of what you need.
Only on this side
Invoicing and bookkeeping that costs nothing
Wave does invoices, receipts and double-entry bookkeeping for free, and earns on card payments and on a paid tier that automates the parts you would otherwise do by hand. For a sole trader sending a dozen invoices a year it is the cheapest honest answer. Payroll and the advisor service exist in some countries only, which is worth checking before a whole tax year lives in it.
Pick Harvest if you bill by the hour and need a timer running against a project before the invoice is written. The free plan covers one seat and two projects with time tracking, invoicing and expenses all present, and Teams at $9 a seat a month removes the caps.
Pick Wave if the business needs real bookkeeping, double-entry accounts an accountant can use at year end, not just a stack of invoices. Starter is free with no cap on invoices, and Pro at $19 a month, $190 a year, adds automation and receipt scanning plus a waived fee on the first ten card payments each month. It tracks no time at all, so an hourly biller still needs something like Harvest alongside it. Confirm payroll and Wave Advisors are offered in your country before building a whole tax year on it.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web, macOS, iOS | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance, Project Management | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Free accounting that is genuinely accounting, which is rare enough to be worth the check it needs: confirm that payments and payroll are supported where you live before a tax year is built on it.