Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Harvest and Toggl Track both start at $9 a month per seat, but they stop at different places: Harvest turns tracked hours straight into an invoice with Stripe and PayPal built in, free for one seat and two projects. Toggl Track only reports where the time went, across more platforms and devices, free for a limited number of users, and leaves billing to a separate tool. Pick Harvest if the invoice is the point. Pick Toggl Track if you just need to know where the week went.
Time tracking that turns into an invoice
Time tracking that stays free for a small team
Harvest | Toggl Track | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $9 | From $9 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Not stated |
| Free trial | 30 days | 30 days |
| API | Yes |
Time tracking that turns into an invoice
Harvest counts hours against a project and then bills them, which removes the worst half hour of any freelance month: reading a timesheet back and typing it into an invoice. Expenses and receipts attach to the same project. The free plan covers one person and two projects, and for a solo creator that is often where it stops.
Our note
Harvest is the pick when the hours are the invoice. If work is billed as a fixed project fee, Moxie or Bonsai cover more of the job for similar money and the time tracking is the smaller part of what you need.
Only on this side
Time tracking that stays free for a small team
Toggl Track records where the hours went, across a browser extension, a desktop application and a phone, and it does the awkward part well: reminding somebody who forgot to start the timer and letting them fill the gap afterwards. The free plan covers a limited number of users with no time limit on it. Billable rates, project profitability and required fields are what the paid tiers add. It reports on time rather than turning it into an invoice, so billing still happens somewhere else.
Pick Harvest if tracked hours need to become a client invoice without retyping them. The free plan covers one seat and two projects with invoicing and expenses included, and Teams at $9 a seat a month lifts the caps after a 30-day trial with no card.
Pick Toggl Track if the goal is simply knowing where the hours went, on more platforms than Harvest covers: browser, desktop, phone, with idle detection and reminders. Free covers a limited number of users with no time limit, and Starter is $9 a licence a month. Read the Premium footnote before committing to it: $14 a month is a first-year price on annual billing that renews at $18, a 29 percent rise most people do not plan for.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web, macOS, iOS | Web, macOS, Windows, iOS, Android, Linux |
|---|
| Covers | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance, Project Management | Creator Finance, Project Management |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Read the Premium footnote before budgeting, because $14 is a first-year price and $18 is what it becomes, which is a 29 percent rise nobody plans for. Clockify is the cheaper paid option if the free plan runs out on user count rather than on features.