Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Harvest starts with a timer: track hours against a project and bill them, free for one seat and two projects with Stripe and PayPal built in. Invoicely starts with the invoice itself, capped at five a month on the free plan with three saved clients and PayPal as the only payment route, then $9.99 a month for a hundred invoices and multi-currency billing. Pick Harvest when the hours are what you are billing. Pick Invoicely for straightforward invoices with clients paying in more than one currency.
Time tracking that turns into an invoice
Invoicing with a free plan that stays free
Harvest | Invoicely | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $9 | From $9.99 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Not stated |
| Free trial | 30 days | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Time tracking that turns into an invoice
Harvest counts hours against a project and then bills them, which removes the worst half hour of any freelance month: reading a timesheet back and typing it into an invoice. Expenses and receipts attach to the same project. The free plan covers one person and two projects, and for a solo creator that is often where it stops.
Our note
Harvest is the pick when the hours are the invoice. If work is billed as a fixed project fee, Moxie or Bonsai cover more of the job for similar money and the time tracking is the smaller part of what you need.
Only on this side
Invoicing with a free plan that stays free
Invoicely sends invoices, estimates and recurring statements, and tracks time, expenses and mileage against them. The free plan is capped at five invoices a month rather than at a trial period, so a freelancer billing one or two clients never has to pay. Billing in any currency is on every paid tier, which matters if your clients are not all in one country.
Pick Harvest if hourly billing is the business and the invoice needs to come straight out of tracked time. The free plan covers one seat and two projects with time tracking, invoicing and expenses all present, and Teams at $9 a seat a month removes those caps after a 30-day trial with no card.
Pick Invoicely if the job is professional invoices, estimates and recurring statements without Harvest's project structure. Free covers five invoices a month and three clients with PayPal only, and Basic at $9.99 a month lifts that to a hundred invoices, twenty-five clients and multi-currency billing, useful the moment a client pays in something other than dollars. It stops at invoicing, though: the moment bookkeeping or reconciliation enters the picture, look at Wave instead.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web, macOS, iOS | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance, Project Management | Accounting & Tax |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Worth choosing when invoicing is the only accounting job you have. The moment somebody says the word reconciliation, you have outgrown it, and paying $9.99 here plus a real ledger somewhere else costs more than starting on Wave.