Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Harvest starts with a timer: track hours against a project and turn them into an invoice with the rate already applied, free for one seat and two projects. Invoice Ninja starts with the invoice itself, quotes, recurring bills and a long list of payment gateways, free for up to five clients with no time limit, and it can be self-hosted since the code is open source. Pick Harvest if hourly billing is the business. Pick Invoice Ninja if the job is sending invoices without tracking time against them.
Time tracking that turns into an invoice
Open-source invoicing, free for 5 clients
Harvest | Invoice Ninja | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $9 | From $14 |
| Pricing model | Free plan, paid tiers | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | 30 days | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Time tracking that turns into an invoice
Harvest counts hours against a project and then bills them, which removes the worst half hour of any freelance month: reading a timesheet back and typing it into an invoice. Expenses and receipts attach to the same project. The free plan covers one person and two projects, and for a solo creator that is often where it stops.
Our note
Harvest is the pick when the hours are the invoice. If work is billed as a fixed project fee, Moxie or Bonsai cover more of the job for similar money and the time tracking is the smaller part of what you need.
Only on this side
Open-source invoicing, free for 5 clients
Invoice Ninja issues invoices, quotes and recurring bills, takes payment through a long list of gateways, and gives the whole thing away for up to five clients with no time limit and no invoice cap. The application is open source, so anybody who would rather hold their own data can run it on their own server instead of paying for the hosted version. Paying lifts the client limit and adds the branding and automation a business wants. Five clients is the ceiling that decides it, and it arrives sooner than most people expect.
Pick Harvest if you bill by the hour and the gap between a timesheet and an invoice is costing you money. The free plan covers one seat and two projects with time tracking, invoicing and expenses all present, and Teams at $9 a seat a month lifts those caps after a 30-day trial that takes no card.
Pick Invoice Ninja if time tracking is not the point and the real question is how many clients you can bill for free. Five clients cost nothing, forever, with unlimited invoicing, quotes and recurring bills, and Pro at $14 a month lifts that ceiling and adds branding and automation. Being open source, it can run on your own server instead of a hosted plan, which matters if you would rather not put client financials on somebody else's.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Everything, in an open format |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web, macOS, iOS | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance, Project Management | Creator Finance, Accounting & Tax |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Count your clients rather than your invoices, because that is the limit that actually bites and it arrives sooner than the free plan suggests. Self-host only if you were going to maintain a server anyway, since the hosted Pro plan costs less than the hours will.