Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Gumroad charges nothing monthly and takes a flat 10 percent of every sale, built for a single digital product with no setup. Shopify runs a full store, physical or digital, across web, social and in person, from $29 a month billed yearly plus a card rate starting at 2.9 percent plus 30 cents. Pick Gumroad if the whole business is one download. Pick Shopify once you are running a real catalogue or selling physical goods anywhere beyond a single product page.
Sell digital products with almost no setup
A storefront whose card rate falls by plan
Gumroad | Shopify | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | From $29 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free | Paid subscription |
| Free tier (they differ) | Yes | No |
| Billing (they differ) | Usage-based | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Yes |
Sell digital products with almost no setup
Gumroad is the fastest way to put a file behind a payment link. No store to build, no plan to choose, and a flat 10 percent on every sale. That rate is high once you are doing real volume, which is when people usually leave.
Our note
Start here, and do the arithmetic every quarter. The moment 10 percent is more than a competitor's monthly fee plus a lower rate, move. Until then nothing is simpler.
A storefront whose card rate falls by plan
Shopify runs the shop itself, the checkout and the card processing, which is why its pricing has two numbers rather than one: a monthly plan and a card rate that drops as the plan rises. Selling on social, in person and through a site all report into the same catalogue and stock count. The plans are otherwise similar enough that most people choose on the card rate and the staff seats. Using a payment provider other than Shopify's own adds a transaction fee on top, so the cheap plan is not always the cheap option.
Our note
Work out the crossover between plans on your own card volume before choosing, because 0.2 percent of a busy month covers the difference between two tiers and most people pick on features instead. If a third-party gateway is a requirement rather than a preference, price that transaction fee in first, since it can cost more than the plan itself.
Pick Gumroad if you are selling a single digital download and do not want a monthly bill before the first sale. The only cost is a flat 10 percent per sale, covering payment processing, with no plan to choose and nothing owed in a quiet month.
Pick Shopify if the shop needs a real catalogue, physical goods, or sales across social, in person and a site sharing one stock count. Basic is $29 a month billed yearly, or $39 monthly, with a card rate from 2.9 percent plus 30 cents that falls to 2.25 percent on Plus. Its own guidance is blunt: somebody selling a single digital download is overbuying here, and a storefront like Gumroad costs nothing until something sells.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | 10% of what you earn | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android |
|---|
| Covers | Digital Products & Storefronts, Monetization & Payments | Monetization & Payments, Digital Products & Storefronts |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.