Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Gumroad charges nothing monthly and takes a flat 10 percent of every sale. Sellfy charges a flat monthly fee instead, from $29 for up to $10,000 of yearly sales, and takes no cut at all, plus prints and ships merchandise like shirts and mugs from the same store. Pick Gumroad when sales are occasional and unpredictable. Pick Sellfy once the shop is turning over a few hundred dollars a month, where the flat fee starts beating the percentage.
Gumroad | Sellfy | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | From $29 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free | Free trial, then paid |
| Free tier (they differ) | Yes | No |
| Billing (they differ) | Usage-based | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | Not stated | 14 days |
| API | Not stated |
Sell digital products with almost no setup
Gumroad is the fastest way to put a file behind a payment link. No store to build, no plan to choose, and a flat 10 percent on every sale. That rate is high once you are doing real volume, which is when people usually leave.
Our note
Start here, and do the arithmetic every quarter. The moment 10 percent is more than a competitor's monthly fee plus a lower rate, move. Until then nothing is simpler.
Only on this side
A storefront for downloads and merch
Sellfy sells digital files, subscriptions and print-on-demand merchandise from one storefront, prints and ships the merchandise itself, and takes no cut of a sale. The plans are banded by annual sales instead, which is the trade: a flat fee that steps up as you grow rather than a percentage of everything you ever sell.
Our note
Pick Gumroad for a first product, an occasional release, or income that arrives unevenly. The only cost is a flat 10 percent per sale, covering payment processing, and a quiet month costs nothing at all.
Pick Sellfy once monthly sales pass roughly $290, the point where its flat $29-a-month fee undercuts Gumroad's 10 percent cut, or as soon as merchandise is part of the plan. Starter covers up to $10,000 of sales a year with no transaction fee at all, and Business at $59 a month adds cart abandonment emails and your own affiliate program. Sellfy also prints and ships shirts and mugs from the same store, which Gumroad does not offer.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut (they differ) | 10% of what you earn | None |
|---|
| Runs on | Not stated | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Digital Products & Storefronts, Monetization & Payments | Digital Products & Storefronts, Merch & Print on Demand |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Against Gumroad the choice is a flat fee against a percentage of every sale, so Sellfy wins once the shop is turning over a few hundred a month and loses under that. If merchandise is part of the plan, the print-on-demand side settles it.
Only on this side