Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
GrowSurf runs referrals for any product with signups, billed by how many participants are enrolled: $125 a month covers up to 2,500 of them, with no cut of what a referral is worth. ReferralCandy is built specifically for online stores and charges the opposite way: $39 a month plus a 10.5 percent fee on the sales a referral brings in, dropping to 0.25 percent on its priciest tier. Pick GrowSurf for a flat bill with no revenue share. Pick ReferralCandy if the product is a store and the arithmetic on the fee tiers works in your favor.
Referral programs priced by participant
Refer-a-friend for a shop, on a success fee
GrowSurf | ReferralCandy | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $125 | From $39 |
| Pricing model | Free trial, then paid | Free trial, then paid |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Billing | Not stated | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial (they differ) | 14 days | 7 days |
| API |
Referral programs priced by participant
GrowSurf runs a refer-a-friend program for a product rather than a one-off giveaway: every participant gets a link, the rewards fire automatically, and the tax paperwork on the payouts is handled. It bills on how many people are in the program rather than on how many you refer, which is unusual and worth understanding before you launch.
Our note
The pricing model is the thing to think hardest about: paying per participant is generous if your referrals convert and punishing if they do not. Run the trial with real traffic before committing to a year.
Refer-a-friend for a shop, on a success fee
ReferralCandy runs the customer referral program for an online store: the reward, the emails chasing it, the fraud checks and the payout. Every plan has every feature and the tiers differ only in the split between a fixed monthly fee and a percentage of the sales the program brings in. Working out which tier is cheapest for you is real arithmetic, and the dearer plans can genuinely cost less.
Pick GrowSurf for a SaaS or membership product that wants a referral channel with a predictable bill. Startup is $125 a month for up to 2,500 participants, with automatic rewards and 1099 tax filing included, after a 14-day trial with the paid features.
Pick ReferralCandy if what you are selling is inventory through a store. Premium is $39 a month plus a 10.5 percent fee on the customers a referral brings in, and every tier has every feature, so moving up to Plus at $79 plus 3.5 percent, or higher, only changes that fee split. ReferralCandy's own numbers put the break-even between its first two tiers near $600 a month in referred revenue, so the cheapest sticker price is not always the cheapest bill.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | 10.5% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Giveaways & Referrals, Affiliate & Referral | Giveaways & Referrals, Affiliate & Referral |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Do the arithmetic rather than reading down the price column, because the cheapest plan is the most expensive one past a few thousand dollars of referred sales. The break-even between the first two tiers lands near $600 a month in referred revenue.