Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Genius Referrals meters by advocate count: Starter is $71 a month billed annually for 250 new advocates, then 20 cents for each one over, a known cost regardless of how much they spend. ReferralCandy meters by revenue instead: $39 a month plus a 10.5 percent success fee on the net-new sales the program brings in, dropping to 3.5 percent on the $79 Plus tier. Genius Referrals' bill grows with how many people join. ReferralCandy's bill grows with how much they actually spend, and its own guidance says the dearer plan can cost less once volume rises.
Referral programs priced per advocate
Refer-a-friend for a shop, on a success fee
Genius Referrals | ReferralCandy | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $71 | From $39 |
| Pricing model | Free trial, then paid | Free trial, then paid |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial (they differ) | 14 days | 7 days |
| API |
Referral programs priced per advocate
Genius Referrals runs customer referral schemes rather than affiliate marketing, which is a different job: the people doing the referring are buyers rather than publishers, and the rewards go both ways. Plans are metered on new advocates a month with a stated overage rather than a cliff, so a good month costs a known amount. Payout automation is an add-on rather than a tier. Existing advocates are not counted twice, which the page states, and that is what stops the meter running on people who joined last year.
Our note
The 20-cent overage is worth more than it looks, because it turns a good month into a known cost rather than an upgrade conversation. Check that your program really is customer-to-customer before buying here, since the pricing meter counts advocates and an affiliate program with ten hard-working publishers would waste the whole allowance.
Refer-a-friend for a shop, on a success fee
ReferralCandy runs the customer referral program for an online store: the reward, the emails chasing it, the fraud checks and the payout. Every plan has every feature and the tiers differ only in the split between a fixed monthly fee and a percentage of the sales the program brings in. Working out which tier is cheapest for you is real arithmetic, and the dearer plans can genuinely cost less.
Pick Genius Referrals when the program has uneven months and a known, predictable cost per advocate matters more than tracking against revenue. Starter is $71 a month billed annually for 250 new advocates, with extra advocates at 20 cents each rather than a forced upgrade. It rewards both the referrer and the friend, built for customers referring customers rather than publishers being paid commission.
Pick ReferralCandy for a store with steady sales where a success fee on net-new referred revenue is an acceptable trade for referrals running in the background. Premium is $39 a month plus 10.5 percent, but do the arithmetic rather than reading down the price column; the break-even between the first two tiers lands near $600 a month in referred revenue, and a dearer plan can genuinely cost less past that point.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | 10.5% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Affiliate & Referral, Giveaways & Referrals | Giveaways & Referrals, Affiliate & Referral |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Do the arithmetic rather than reading down the price column, because the cheapest plan is the most expensive one past a few thousand dollars of referred sales. The break-even between the first two tiers lands near $600 a month in referred revenue.