Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
FundRazr runs a campaign page with no monthly cost, charging just 2.9 percent plus 30 cents in processing if you pick Optional Tips, or asking donors to cover the platform fee outright under Fee Recovery, which the page says 85 to 95 percent do. GoFundMe also charges no platform fee on personal fundraisers, 2.9 percent plus 30 cents processing for US individuals and 2.2 percent plus 30 cents for certified nonprofits, and is built to travel through social sharing. Both let donors add an optional tip; the difference is reach and control, GoFundMe for the audience it can pull in, FundRazr for the choice of how the fee gets covered.
Crowdfunding that charges the donor, not you
Raise money from a page anyone can share
FundRazr | GoFundMe | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | Free |
| Pricing model | Free | Free |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Usage-based | Usage-based |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Not stated | Not stated |
| Data export |
Crowdfunding that charges the donor, not you
FundRazr runs a campaign page with no monthly cost, and pays for itself either by asking your donors for an optional tip or by asking them to cover the platform fee. Both choices are yours and you can switch mid-campaign. It leans toward memorials, medical costs and community causes rather than product launches.
Our note
The honest comparison here is Zeffy, which charges nothing at all and covers the card fees too. FundRazr is the better answer if you are not a registered nonprofit, which is what Zeffy asks for at signup.
Only on this side
Raise money from a page anyone can share
GoFundMe is where a one-off ask goes when it needs to travel further than an audience already reaches. There is no platform fee on a personal fundraiser in the countries listed on its pricing page, and the company is funded by an optional tip donors choose at checkout. Card processing still comes off the top.
Pick FundRazr if you want to choose and switch how the fee gets paid: Optional Tips leaves only the 2.9 percent plus 30 cents processing cut, and Fee Recovery asks donors to cover the rest, reportedly leaving the average campaign with 98.5 percent of what was raised. Its templates lean toward memorials, medical costs and community causes specifically.
Pick GoFundMe if reach matters more than fee control: the page is built to travel through social and messaging, which is where most of its donations come from, and money can be withdrawn before the goal is even hit. Certified US nonprofits pay 2.2 percent plus 30 cents rather than the standard 2.9 percent, a discount FundRazr's listing does not mention having.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Crowdfunding, Monetization & Payments, Tips & Donations | Crowdfunding, Monetization & Payments |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.