Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
Fundraise Up charges a flat 4 percent of every donation from day one, in exchange for a checkout tuned to raise more per gift. Kindest charges 5 percent on its free plan, waived entirely on the first $50,000 a new nonprofit raises in its first year, or 3.75 percent on a $1,800-a-year paid plan. A brand-new nonprofit inside that waiver pays nothing on Kindest and 4 percent on Fundraise Up; past it, the two-tier math depends on annual volume.
A donation checkout tuned to raise more
Donation pages that start without a subscription
Fundraise Up | Kindest | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | Not listed |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Billing | Usage-based | Not stated |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
A donation checkout tuned to raise more
Fundraise Up replaces a donation form with a checkout tuned to raise the amount given: suggested upgrades, a monthly nudge, wallets and a currency the donor recognises. It charges four percent of what comes in and sells no plans at all. The company's own figure is that most donors elect to cover that cost, which is the argument for a percentage over a subscription.
Our note
Four percent on top of processing is more than a plain Stripe form costs, and the case for it is that the checkout raises more than it takes. Ask for the figures on comparable organisations before assuming that holds for your audience.
Only on this side
Donation pages that start without a subscription
Kindest gives a nonprofit donation forms, recurring giving and donor records on a free plan that takes a percentage instead of a monthly fee, and waives even that on the first fifty thousand dollars of a first year. The paid tier lowers the percentage and adds text campaigns and scheduled time with a person. Forms default to asking the donor to cover fees. Everything here assumes a registered charity rather than an individual.
Pick Fundraise Up if you want one flat rate that never changes: 4 percent of every donation, no subscription, and a checkout engineered with suggested amounts and a recurring-giving nudge to raise more per gift. It works for creators raising money from a cause as well as registered nonprofits, and it does not ask you to be one.
Pick Kindest if you are a new United States nonprofit still finding its feet: the free plan waives its 5 percent fee entirely on the first $50,000 raised in a first year, beating Fundraise Up's 4 percent outright during that window. Past the waiver, the free plan's 5 percent costs more than Fundraise Up's 4 percent, and the $1,800-a-year paid plan at 3.75 percent only pulls ahead once annual donations pass roughly $720,000.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut (they differ) | 4% of what you earn | 5% of what you earn |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Tips & Donations, Crowdfunding, Monetization & Payments | Tips & Donations, Crowdfunding |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Work out where 1.25 percentage points saves more than $1,800 a year, which is around $144,000 of annual donations, and pick the plan on that rather than on the feature list. Below that number the free plan is the right answer even once the waiver runs out.