Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
FreshBooks has no free plan, only a 30-day trial before Lite starts at $23 a month for five billable clients. Zoho Books is free for one user plus an accountant, not a trial, and Standard is $20 a month, or $15 billed yearly, once a second user joins, undercutting FreshBooks at every tier. The trade is interface: Zoho Books comes from a company that sells fifty other products and feels like it, where FreshBooks is built around freelancers first.
Invoicing built for freelancers, not accountants
Free accounting for a one person business
FreshBooks | Zoho Books | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $23 | From $20 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial (they differ) | 30 days | None |
Invoicing built for freelancers, not accountants
FreshBooks is double-entry accounting wearing a friendly invoice app, which is the right shape for somebody who bills a handful of clients and dreads January. Time tracking and expenses feed the invoice directly. Client limits on the cheap plan are the thing that pushes people up a tier.
Our note
Wave does invoicing and bookkeeping free and is enough for most creators. Pay for FreshBooks when the client count, the retainers or the proposals are the reason, not because it looks more serious.
Free accounting for a one person business
Zoho Books gives a solo business a genuinely free plan with invoices, expenses, bank reconciliation and 1099 tracking on it, which is more than most vendors put behind their cheapest paid tier. It is worth the trade if you already use anything else Zoho makes. On its own it is a heavier, more form-driven thing to learn than the tools built for freelancers first.
Our note
This is the strongest free accounting product a solo creator can get, and the catch is not the features but the interface: it is built by a company that sells fifty products and it feels like it. If you already resent bookkeeping, Wave will annoy you less.
Pick FreshBooks if you want an interface built specifically for freelancers and small studios, with retainers, proposals and accountant access as the client list grows. Lite is $23 a month for five billable clients, more than Zoho Books' equivalent paid tier, and that gap buys a simpler, more direct tool to learn.
Pick Zoho Books if the free plan is the point: one user plus an accountant, invoices, bank reconciliation and 1099 tracking, with no time limit and no monthly bill. Standard is $20 a month, or $15 billed yearly, cheaper than FreshBooks' cheapest paid tier, though the editorial note warns the interface is heavier and more form-driven than tools built for freelancers first.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| API | Yes | Not stated |
|---|
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web, iOS, Android | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | 1 | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.