Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
FreshBooks is $23 a month for five billable clients, with time tracking and expenses feeding directly into the invoice. Xero is $25 a month for its Early tier, capped at 20 invoices and 5 bills, and adds contractor 1099 handling and cash flow forecasts up to 180 days out. The two prices land within two dollars of each other; the real difference is which cap you hit first, client count on FreshBooks or invoice count on Xero.
Invoicing built for freelancers, not accountants
Accounting a freelancer can run without help
FreshBooks | Xero | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $23 | From $25 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Paid subscription |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | 30 days | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Invoicing built for freelancers, not accountants
FreshBooks is double-entry accounting wearing a friendly invoice app, which is the right shape for somebody who bills a handful of clients and dreads January. Time tracking and expenses feed the invoice directly. Client limits on the cheap plan are the thing that pushes people up a tier.
Our note
Wave does invoicing and bookkeeping free and is enough for most creators. Pay for FreshBooks when the client count, the retainers or the proposals are the reason, not because it looks more serious.
Accounting a freelancer can run without help
Xero covers the parts of bookkeeping a creator actually meets: invoices, bank reconciliation, expenses and the reports an accountant asks for in January. Nothing in it assumes you have taken an accounting class. There is no free plan, and the cheapest tier stops at twenty invoices a month, which a busy freelancer clears by the third week.
Our note
Pick Xero over Wave when you have contractors to pay and a real filing to make, and Wave over Xero when you mostly need invoices to look professional. The invoice cap on the entry plan is the thing people hit and get annoyed by, so count last year's invoices before choosing it.
Pick FreshBooks if you bill a small number of clients directly and want time tracking, expense receipts and proposals in the same app. Lite is $23 a month for five billable clients, and a 30-day free trial shows whether five is enough before you pay anything.
Pick Xero if you pay contractors and need 1099 forms filed, or want cash flow projected 30 to 180 days out. Early is $25 a month but caps at 20 invoices and 5 bills, a limit a busy freelancer clears by the third week, so budget for Growing at $55 once that happens. Xero also runs a rolling promotion on the first six months, so the real ongoing price is higher than the first bill suggests.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web, iOS, Android | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | 1 | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.