Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
FreshBooks is double-entry accounting behind a friendly invoice app, gated by client count: Lite is $23 a month for five billable clients, Plus $43 for fifty. Moxie holds the client list, proposals, contracts, time tracking and invoicing in one account from $12 a month, with tiers separated by features like a white-labelled portal rather than by how many clients are billed. FreshBooks does the accounting and tax-report side more thoroughly. Moxie covers the proposal and contract stage that FreshBooks does not attempt at all, and starts almost half the price.
Invoicing built for freelancers, not accountants
The freelance business in one place
FreshBooks | Moxie | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $23 | From $12 |
| Pricing model | Free trial, then paid | Free trial, then paid |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial (they differ) | 30 days | 14 days |
| API | Yes |
Invoicing built for freelancers, not accountants
FreshBooks is double-entry accounting wearing a friendly invoice app, which is the right shape for somebody who bills a handful of clients and dreads January. Time tracking and expenses feed the invoice directly. Client limits on the cheap plan are the thing that pushes people up a tier.
Our note
Wave does invoicing and bookkeeping free and is enough for most creators. Pay for FreshBooks when the client count, the retainers or the proposals are the reason, not because it looks more serious.
Only on this side
The freelance business in one place
Moxie holds the client list, the proposal, the contract, the time log and the invoice in one account, so a freelancer stops paying four tools that each know a quarter of the job. A scheduler and a light set of books are in there as well. Its own pricing page compares it to Bonsai, Dubsado and HoneyBook, which is a fair statement of who it is up against.
Pick FreshBooks for proper double-entry accounting wrapped in an invoice app, with tax-time reports built for handing to an accountant. Lite is $23 a month for five billable clients, and the client count, not the feature list, is what forces most upgrades. It has no proposal or contract tool at all; that stage of a client relationship happens somewhere else.
Pick Moxie to stop paying for four separate tools that each know a quarter of a freelance business: proposals, contracts, time tracking and invoicing together from $12 a month. Pro at $25 adds a white-labelled client portal and a custom domain, and Teams at $40 covers five people. Its own comparison against Bonsai says Moxie wins on entry price and Bonsai on the depth of its contract library, which is a fair way to weigh it against FreshBooks too: FreshBooks is the deeper accounting tool.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | None |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web, iOS, Android | Web |
|---|
| Covers | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance | Accounting & Tax, Legal & Contracts, Project Management |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | 1 | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Our note
Against Bonsai the split is that Moxie costs less at the entry tier and Bonsai has the deeper contract library. Pick Moxie if the client portal matters and Bonsai if the paperwork does.
Only on this side