Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
FreshBooks turns client billing into full double-entry accounting, from $23 a month for five billable clients after a 30-day trial. Harvest turns tracked hours into an invoice, free for one person and two projects, then $9 a seat a month once you need more. The choice is what starts the invoice: a client relationship on FreshBooks, or a timer on Harvest.
Invoicing built for freelancers, not accountants
Time tracking that turns into an invoice
FreshBooks | Harvest | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $23 | From $9 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Free plan, paid tiers |
| Free tier (they differ) | No | Yes |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | 30 days | 30 days |
Invoicing built for freelancers, not accountants
FreshBooks is double-entry accounting wearing a friendly invoice app, which is the right shape for somebody who bills a handful of clients and dreads January. Time tracking and expenses feed the invoice directly. Client limits on the cheap plan are the thing that pushes people up a tier.
Our note
Wave does invoicing and bookkeeping free and is enough for most creators. Pay for FreshBooks when the client count, the retainers or the proposals are the reason, not because it looks more serious.
Time tracking that turns into an invoice
Harvest counts hours against a project and then bills them, which removes the worst half hour of any freelance month: reading a timesheet back and typing it into an invoice. Expenses and receipts attach to the same project. The free plan covers one person and two projects, and for a solo creator that is often where it stops.
Our note
Harvest is the pick when the hours are the invoice. If work is billed as a fixed project fee, Moxie or Bonsai cover more of the job for similar money and the time tracking is the smaller part of what you need.
Pick FreshBooks if clients and retainers are the unit you bill by and you want real accounting reports alongside the invoice. Lite is $23 a month for five billable clients, rising to $43 for fifty on Plus, so count your active client list before choosing a tier. Accountant access arrives on the Plus plan, the point most small studios upgrade for.
Pick Harvest if hours are what you bill and the gap between a timesheet and an invoice is where time gets lost. One person and two projects stay free indefinitely, with real time tracking, invoicing and expenses rather than a crippled trial. Teams is $9 a seat a month once you outgrow that, far below FreshBooks' $23 entry price, though anybody billing a flat project fee gets little extra from the time tracking itself.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| API |
|---|
| Yes |
| Yes |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on (they differ) | Web, iOS, Android | Web, macOS, iOS |
|---|
| Covers | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance, Project Management |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | 1 | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.
Only on this side