Making the work
Growing an audience
Running the business
FreeAgent is UK-only accounting that submits VAT and self assessment straight to HMRC, at £33 a month or free if you bank with NatWest, Royal Bank of Scotland, Ulster Bank or Mettle. Xero is general accounting with contractor 1099 handling and cash flow forecasting, starting at $25 a month for 20 invoices and 5 bills before the cap forces an upgrade. The choice is jurisdiction first: one files a UK return itself, the other is built around a wider market with an invoice cap a busy freelancer clears fast.
FreeAgent | Xero | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (they differ) | From $33 | From $25 |
| Pricing model (they differ) | Free trial, then paid | Paid subscription |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Billing | Monthly or annual | Monthly or annual |
| Free trial | 30 days | Not stated |
| API | Yes |
Accounting built around UK sole traders
FreeAgent covers invoices, expenses, VAT returns and the self assessment filing a UK sole trader has to do anyway, and it files them with HMRC directly. Bank feeds and receipt capture keep the bookkeeping from piling up into an annual weekend of dread. It is UK-only, so it is no use to anybody filing anywhere else.
Our note
The bank-account route is worth checking before paying. If you already bank with NatWest or hold a Mettle account, this is a full accounting package for nothing, and it is the only offer of that shape in the category.
Accounting a freelancer can run without help
Xero covers the parts of bookkeeping a creator actually meets: invoices, bank reconciliation, expenses and the reports an accountant asks for in January. Nothing in it assumes you have taken an accounting class. There is no free plan, and the cheapest tier stops at twenty invoices a month, which a busy freelancer clears by the third week.
Our note
Pick Xero over Wave when you have contractors to pay and a real filing to make, and Wave over Xero when you mostly need invoices to look professional. The invoice cap on the entry plan is the thing people hit and get annoyed by, so count last year's invoices before choosing it.
Pick FreeAgent if you are a UK sole trader or limited company and want the self assessment and Making Tax Digital VAT return filed straight to HMRC from the same app that does the bookkeeping. £33 a month is the list price, but it drops to free for the life of the account if you bank with NatWest, Royal Bank of Scotland, Ulster Bank or Mettle.
Pick Xero if you pay contractors and need the 1099 paperwork, or want cash flow forecast 30 to 180 days out. Early is $25 a month but caps at 20 invoices and 5 bills, a limit most busy freelancers hit by the third week, so budget for Growing at $55 once that happens. There is no free tier at all, only a promotional first six months.
Ratings are the average of reviews readers left. The facts are stated by each tool’s own listing and are not verified by CloutStack. How we make money.
| Not stated |
| Data export | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Their cut | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Runs on | Web | Not stated |
|---|
| Covers | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance | Accounting & Tax, Creator Finance |
|---|
| Works with | Nothing in particular | Nothing in particular |
|---|
| Founded | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Reader rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
|---|
| Live deals | None right now | None right now |
|---|
Shaded rows are where the two answers disagree and both listings have answered. A row where one side has not stated a fact is left plain, because silence is not a difference.